A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: a special mask?

a special mask?

hey, i was wondering how to do this trick, not sure if it's distinguished as a mask or guide or what..

i have a lil box right? no fill, just a thin black border. how do i make the box appear as if the border is being drawn? i have a feeling that with a mask, this would be choppy (depending on the shape of the mask) and it would only disappear after the mask revealed a certain area of it. know what i'm saying? a want a border to be drawn around my flash movie as it opens.. i just can't find any tutorials on it.

i know flash has a built in tutorial but it's for writing text i think.. anyone got a site wiht a tutorial on this specific question? much appreciated. thanks

i'm no expert on flash so this might not be the best way to do something like this, but maybe you could try a shape tween and do one line at a time. let me know if that helps...

Josh

well.. first off it's a symbol--so i will manipulate the entire border at once. second, i dont think it has anything to do with tweens. it doesn't involvement "movement" of the actual lines, just movement of a type of mask so it reveals the lines, but typically a mask will only reveal what the shape of the mask is.

i want exactly that, but i want the mask to keep showing what it has already showed. any normal mask would only show like, a circle for example, of the graphic. i want the circle to move around the border and reveal it, but not make it disappear once it passes.

Hows this?

Does this help?
    Attached Files Attached Files

perfect! I don't think i completely understand what you did with this though.. I see that's the effect I want, but I don't see exactly how you pulled it off.

I am also wondering how this was done.