A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Links don't work

Links don't work

I may sound stupid...

But i did the site by making every subpage in a single scene. Now, i want al the scenes to link to eachother. But that's not working, does anyone have a clue what it could be.

I tried the stop action on the first scene, so it doesn't go on. But nothing else is going on either.

I'm not that experienced with Swish... it's my first site that i'm building.

Hi Chaoschrist,

Welcome to Swish Help Forum.

If I understand what you are saying...... you have several subpages and each subpage has a scene of its own and you would like them to be linked together.... ?

If my understanding is right.... this is easy to do. I have enclosed a sample for you to see the action/scritping in order for this to happen.

Basically, you just place an action on each link and a "gotoSceneAndPlay" to the scene you would like. For example:

on (release) {
    gotoSceneAndPlay("Scene_1",1);
    }

or

on (release) {
    gotoSceneAndPlay("Scene_2",1);
    }

The example will show you how. It is in SwishMax. If you have Swish 201 and not SwishMax let me know and I'll do an example in 2.01.

Hope this helps.

Blessings

JWR
    Attached Files Attached Files
    When all is said and done -- "You MUST be Born Again!" John 3:3

I have swish 2.0 (but i think the command should be the same)

Well, anyway... it's like.. 8 places on the main page, which should display another scene (each seperatly) if you move over it. But you were close

Thank anyway

Here ya go and example in Swish 2.01 with the actin changed from on release to on Mouseover.

You would use the same action coding for each place you would like your mouse over to take a visitor to a new scene.

If this still doesn't help, you could post your swi and let us know exactly what you would like and we could make some suggestions.

Hope this helps.

Blessings

JWR
    Last edited by jwr; 11-05-2003 at 05:21 PM.