A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Flash Website

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    5

    Flash Website

    Hi, I am creating a website using only Flash. When I publish the html pages they seem to be different sizes on different monitors. On one, the pages are too big and another, the pages are too small! Is there any code I can get or anything I can do to make the pages the same size on all?
    Thanking you...

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    77
    the way i get around this is to use an enter page at the beging of your site which uses javascript to open a new window you can then lock the size, toolbar, etc so that it shows up at the same size on a 12" monitor as it will on a 23"

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    5
    Thanks very much for replying to my problem. Do I just create a normal html page with an enter button and then enter the site? Wouldnt that just affect the 1st page I enter? I have links to other pages then in the actual flash site. would they be set to a certain size too?

  4. #4
    Who, What, Why ... ? Fraggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Flashland .. where else ?
    Posts
    786
    You add the code to your button so that it opens the window and automatically sizes and centers it on release.

    Reagrds.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    5
    Thanks very much! I was thinking that. Any chance anyone has the code??

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    77
    on your button in flash:

    on (press) {
    getURL("JavaScriptop1()");
    }

    then in the html script (within the head tag put):

    <SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
    function pop1(){window.open("your url here","","height=600,width=800,left=0,top=0");}
    </SCRIPT>

    this should make the button call up the javascript function from your html script.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    77
    that was supposed to be:

    Code:
    on (press) {
    getURL("JavaScript:pop1()");
    }

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    77
    damn it. i cant get it to not put that smiley in.

    its supposed the be a : and pop1

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    5
    That worked great! Thanks very much.
    Is there any way to have it displayed in an internet explorer page instead of a pop up page and still have it the same size on all monitors???

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    77
    in the html script:

    function pop1(){window.open("your url here","","height=600,width=800,left=0,top=0",toolb ar=Yes,scrollbars=yes,resizable=Yes);}

    i havn't tried this one - i just found a tutorial once which was about pop ups and it had all these parameters.

    -no harm giving it a try!

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    5
    Thanks very much!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center