A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Site Guarantee

Site Guarantee

Hi all,

I was wondering if anyone had experience of being asked to provide a warranty or guarantee on a web site?

The site I am working on is dynamic, uses ASP & MySQL, and has a content managment system. The client is also paying for a maintainance contract to do general housekeeping duties on the back end.

The client is claiming that there is a statutory one year guarantee on any product provided in the UK, to cover, and I quote, "any latent defects within the design that might surface in the first year".

I would appreciate anyone's opinion on this, especially if your are in the UK.

Cheers

Scott.

UK here and have done similar projects for years ... never had this crop up before, apart from a particularly big project where there was a fairly standard maintenance contract.

He might be talking about products? I'm no lawyer so I'm not sure if there is a difference between software solutions and, say, a hoover.

If a client is asking you to sign a contract, you need to get a layer to look at it ... you'd be surpised how dodgy they can be sometimes ... and a good lawyer will get it changed so it benefts you both.
    Tony Short | Digital Designer | Typographer |
    Tomodomo Network
    www.tomodomo.net

Normally a Lurker
    I am only speculating here so don't take my word as law!

There is a statutory law which garrentees your money back if the product design has any flaws. However I am not sure how this would work out for a product which was bespoke'ly commissioned and created.
    My understanding of this law would only ever be applied to something I had bought in a shop. I don't really know why I think this though.