A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Talisman

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Ontario,Canada
    Posts
    76

    Talisman

    K i Know everyone has played or heard of the board game talisman. I'm making a computer version of it and I was wondering if anyone knows any tutorials that might come in handy. Im an advanced flash user and I've got most of the movement coded, it's just the crossing the bridge part I'm havind probs with. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    96
    Hey buddy because not you know me so well you can tell me when I played or heard of this game. Please tell me as I can not remember. How about you do us all a favor and refreshj our memory by actually describing the game and not assuming thatwe all know wtf you are talking about.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Ontario,Canada
    Posts
    76
    First off, Sorry for that, I only had about 2 mins to write the last post. Second I don't think you have to be such an @ss about it.

    Anyways, the board is a square ring on the outside with a square ring on the inside, there's a bridge at one point, and that's the only place u can cross. When you roll the dice u can move either way u want.

    Now I've got it so u can roll and choose the direction u want but what i can't figure out is how to , if u have a gold, cross the bridge only at a certain point.

    Here's the fla of how i have it so far.

    http://www.geocities.com/xanderjz99/testtalisman.fla

    If anyone could help itd be great
    Thx

  4. #4
    Lurker at Heart EgoAnt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The basement
    Posts
    314
    How about if after each roll you just did a check to see if ms20 was visible, if it is then you could make a "cross bridge" button visible and that could handle getting across to the other side. Then you could set a variable that defined whether or not they had crossed the bridge, and handle their movement differently based on which ring they are on.

    Does that make any sense?
    Speed up your development time with well documented and easy to implement Flash components.
    That's what I do, I save people.... Save them from work. I'm like a slacker superhero, standing for truth, justice, and the consumption of sugary pastries.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Ontario,Canada
    Posts
    76
    It DOES make sense and it is a good idea. unfortunately ms20 wouldnt be visible is they were on say ms19 and rolled a 6. That would work perfectly if it was only when they landed on the bridge.

  6. #6
    Lurker at Heart EgoAnt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The basement
    Posts
    314
    Hmmmm..... Okay, I see the problem... Then why not try something like this:

    Make it so that the crossing position is numbered at least 6 less than the maximum numbered position and at least 6 more than the starting position, then when they roll, check if the crossing position falls within where the player is and their potential roll.

    For example:
    ==============
    Crossing position: 20
    Player Position: 17
    Roll: 5

    Cross = true
    ===============
    Crossing position: 20
    Player Position: 14
    Roll: 4

    Cross = false
    ===============

    The code would be something like:

    code:

    if ((playerPosition < crossPosition && playerPosition + playerRoll >= crossPosition) || (playerPosition > crossPosition && playerPosition - playerRoll <= crossPosition)){
    canCross = true;
    }else{
    canCross = false;
    }

    Speed up your development time with well documented and easy to implement Flash components.
    That's what I do, I save people.... Save them from work. I'm like a slacker superhero, standing for truth, justice, and the consumption of sugary pastries.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Ontario,Canada
    Posts
    76
    hmm That looks like it might work with some extra coding for the inner squares thx a lot. I'll give it a try when I get home and give you an update. I'm working on an isometric view right so we'll see how it fairs.
    Thx

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Ontario,Canada
    Posts
    76
    OK so I recoded it so that its easier to understand in respect to the case statements. I've got the up and down the bridge working except for ONE thing. When I cross the bridge it does the movement of the roll twice and I can't think of how to fix that. Take a look at my new one and if anyone has any ideas lemme know

    http://geocities.com/XanderJZ99/testtalisman.fla

    Thanx

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Ontario,Canada
    Posts
    76
    nm bout that last post i putthe wrong one up. ill put the right one up tommoro left it at work
    sorry

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Ontario,Canada
    Posts
    76
    K hre's the updated version crosses the bridge but doesn't minus the roll after u get across the bridge.

    http://www.hotnewmedia.com/jzellweg/...lismangood.fla

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center