A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Design a menu

  1. #1
    Animator
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    India
    Posts
    238

    Design a menu

    Anyone can tell me how to design a menu like this on....http://www.rackspace.com/index.php in flash MX.

    And if we publish the flash menu animation into gif then it works properly.

    If there is any good tutorial on this then please tell the link.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    33
    those aren't flash menus, there probably done in fireworks/adobe or javascript

    in fireworks you make your button, use the slice tool to make the whole image 1 big slice, then right click it and click edit-popup menu, then just follow the instructions.

  3. #3
    Musician/Sound Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    252
    Yeah, I believe those were done with fireworks. They are all java based dropdown menus. Very easy to make with fireworks.

    Mike

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    33
    they also could be on roll over but i seriously doubt it

  5. #5
    Animator
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    India
    Posts
    238
    But this type of menu can be possible to create within Flash.

    Please tell me how to create a menu like this in FlashMX.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    33
    yes it can but in the link you have shown it isn't in flash. I will see if i can make it.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    33
    Here are the files, umm but i didn't get the link to work thats all. but the menu popup does its just another .swf file loaded on at set co ordinates. Personally i would reccomend fireworks to do this job because its so much less tedious and more friendly.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    Animator
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    India
    Posts
    238
    thanks for the files.

    I don't use fireworks but use imageready and dreamweaver. There is any tutorial which explain how to create this type of menu in imageready or dreamweaver.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    33
    im not sure how to do it in dreamweaver although there is probably a way.

    I found this tutorial for image ready I don't know if it will help you, please note you must manualy edit the html output for the links

    http://www.gurusnetwork.com/tutorial...ady_rollovers/

    hope this helps otherwise since you don't have fireworks , if you give me an idea of what you want i can try to create it to your liking in fireworks and save you the hassle of buying the product.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    29
    It would be much easier to do in Javascript (as your example was) easy Here
    & an example here

    If you do it in Image REady it will be an "all images" menu, adding to loadtimes when there is really no need.

    Ideally look into doing it in CSS. Project 7 have great free examples.

  11. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Why is this thread going on, if Flash is not used?
    Last edited by oldnewbie; 09-06-2004 at 01:26 AM.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    29
    I see no harm in pointing the guy in the right direction, Flash or not.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center