A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Another 3d app - Eovia Carrara

Another 3d app - Eovia Carrara

Hi,

I found this 3d application, called Carrara, from Eovia (www.eovia.com), and was wondering how well it measures to swift3d.

There's this demonstration video they have, available at:

http://www.eovia.com/demos/carrara/m...endu_video.asp

I just wanted to know whether something similar can be done in S3d as well... it'd be great to hear from someone who has used both Carrara and Swift3d.
    Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you with experience!

Swift 3D won't get as good of effects and realism with the raster rendering. You could get close to the same effect if you were to combine Swift 3D with After Effects.

I can tell you that the vector comparision will be exactly the same. Eovia lisenses Electric Rain's Ravix rendering engine and uses it in their program.

I've never used Eovia before myself but it looks like a great program. Swift 3D is also a great program and you definetely get your moneys worth out of it!

I've used Eovia Carrara in the past... version 2.0 and 3.0 to be exact.

It has a rather strange user interface - it's still using the user interface inspired from the days when MetaCreations still owned it and it has a very "Bryce-like" interface. To me, that was a bad thing for me, initially, but after a while, it becomes rather intuitive. I do see that they've added a lot of features since version 3.0, some that are rather nice in 4.0.

The raster renderer was always pretty good, that's a carry over from the Ray Dream days - which is Carrara's predecessor - but as stated above, Eovia licenses Erain's Ravix renderer for vector output. Which means that it'll be great.