A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Am I missing something obvious?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Posts
    19

    Am I missing something obvious?

    Ok, so I have loaded a movieclip into level 7 of my master.swf file. How can I make it go away? I really, really need to unload it. Am I dumb? It's ok if I am, I don't mind. Thanks,

    Meeg

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Posts
    19

    Oh yeah, here's the code I'm using...

    var myMCL:MovieClipLoader = new MovieClipLoader();
    var myListener:Object = new Object();

    myMCL.addListener(myListener);

    myMCL.loadClip("CD unplug.swf", 7);





    I really want "CD unplug.swf" to go away now that I've loaded it. Hmmmmm.

    Thanks.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Posts
    19

    Anyone???

    Please???

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Helsinki
    Posts
    79

    Re: Am I missing something obvious?

    Originally posted by meeglosh
    Ok, so I have loaded a movieclip into level 7 of my master.swf file. How can I make it go away? I really, really need to unload it. Am I dumb? It's ok if I am, I don't mind. Thanks,

    Meeg
    since the movie is loaded if it's not using to much CPU just make it invisible:
    _level7.visible = 0;
    The blue of the sea is sometimes so blue
    that only blood is more reed.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Posts
    19

    Thanks so much, but....

    It's not seeming to work for me (I know...I have that "dumb" problem). Maybe I'm just missing something simple. Here's what I did:

    on (release) {
    stopAllSounds();
    var myMCL:MovieClipLoader = new MovieClipLoader();
    var myListener:Object = new Object();

    myMCL.addListener(myListener);

    myMCL.loadClip("Essence 3.swf", 4);
    _level6.visible = 0;




    }



    Any thoughts? Thanks again sooooo much for your help. Peace,

    Meeg

  6. #6
    Denim Demon
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Outside of society
    Posts
    514
    I'm confused...
    if you want to unload a loaded movie, can't you just unload it?
    For example,

    myButton_btn.onPress = function (){
    _level7.unloadMovie();
    }
    Davy Paycheck- Kicking more ass than your daddy on a 3 bottle night.

  7. #7
    Beyond the Sea
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    997
    as a quick PS, the _visible property should have an underscore before it.

    myMovieClip._visible = false;
    The Coolest Website EVER!
    Do you live in Kansas City? Come join us at KCWebCore

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Posts
    19

    It's on.

    Life is good. Thank you all soooooo much for your help. The world is now my oyster. Peace,

    Meeg

  9. #9
    Denim Demon
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Outside of society
    Posts
    514
    One last thing...
    thought I should remind you that, if you want to replace a loaded movie with another loaded movie, you don't have to unload the first one at all.
    Simply load the second one into the same level as the first. It will automatically replace the first one, as only one movie can occupy a level at any given time.

    I agree... life is good.

    D
    Davy Paycheck- Kicking more ass than your daddy on a 3 bottle night.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center