A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: generating lines between dragable mc's

  1. #1
    Senior Member dudeqwerty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bosnia
    Posts
    1,626

    generating lines between dragable mc's

    hi there,
    i have 4 draggable mc's,
    i can generate lines joining them, but when i drag the mc's the line moves to the correct coordinates but it duplicates its self.
    please look at my script and tr to correct it
    code:
    _root.createEmptyMovieClip("myLine", 1);
    _root.createEmptyMovieClip("myLine1", 2);
    _root.createEmptyMovieClip("myLine2", 3);
    _root.createEmptyMovieClip("myLine3", 4);
    myLine.moveTo(_root.mc._x, _root.mc._y);
    myLine1.moveTo(_root.mc1._x, _root.mc1._y);
    myLine2.moveTo(_root.mc2._x, _root.mc2._y);
    myLine3.moveTo(_root.mc3._x, _root.mc3._y);
    myLine.onEnterFrame = function() {
    myLine.lineTo(_root.mc._x, _root.mc._y);
    myLine.lineStyle(.05, 0x00ff00, 101);
    myLine.lineTo(_root.mc1._x, _root.mc1._y);
    myLine.updateAfterEvent();
    };
    myLine1.onEnterFrame = function() {
    myLine1.lineTo(_root.mc1._x, _root.mc1._y);
    myLine1.lineStyle(.05, 0x00ff00, 101);
    myLine1.lineTo(_root.mc2._x, _root.mc2._y);
    myLine1.updateAfterEvent();
    };
    myLine2.onEnterFrame = function() {
    myLine2.lineTo(_root.mc2._x, _root.mc2._y);
    myLine2.lineStyle(.05, 0x00ff00, 101);
    myLine2.lineTo(_root.mc3._x, _root.mc3._y);
    myLine2.updateAfterEvent();
    };
    myLine3.onEnterFrame = function() {
    myLine3.lineTo(_root.mc3._x, _root.mc3._y);
    myLine3.lineStyle(.05, 0x00ff00, 101);
    myLine3.lineTo(_root.mc._x, _root.mc._y);
    myLine3.updateAfterEvent();
    };



    many thanks.
    zlatan...

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    20
    You need to tell the movieclips to clear what has already been drawn:



    _root.createEmptyMovieClip("myLine", 1);

    _root.createEmptyMovieClip("myLine1", 2);

    _root.createEmptyMovieClip("myLine2", 3);

    _root.createEmptyMovieClip("myLine3", 4);

    myLine.moveTo(_root.mc._x, _root.mc._y);

    myLine1.moveTo(_root.mc1._x, _root.mc1._y);

    myLine2.moveTo(_root.mc2._x, _root.mc2._y);

    myLine3.moveTo(_root.mc3._x, _root.mc3._y);

    myLine.onEnterFrame = function() {
    clear();
    myLine.lineTo(_root.mc._x, _root.mc._y);

    myLine.lineStyle(.05, 0x00ff00, 101);

    myLine.lineTo(_root.mc1._x, _root.mc1._y);

    myLine.updateAfterEvent();

    };

    myLine1.onEnterFrame = function() {
    clear();
    myLine1.lineTo(_root.mc1._x, _root.mc1._y);

    myLine1.lineStyle(.05, 0x00ff00, 101);

    myLine1.lineTo(_root.mc2._x, _root.mc2._y);

    myLine1.updateAfterEvent();

    };

    myLine2.onEnterFrame = function() {
    clear();
    myLine2.lineTo(_root.mc2._x, _root.mc2._y);

    myLine2.lineStyle(.05, 0x00ff00, 101);

    myLine2.lineTo(_root.mc3._x, _root.mc3._y);

    myLine2.updateAfterEvent();

    };

    myLine3.onEnterFrame = function() {
    clear();
    myLine3.lineTo(_root.mc3._x, _root.mc3._y);

    myLine3.lineStyle(.05, 0x00ff00, 101);

    myLine3.lineTo(_root.mc._x, _root.mc._y);

    myLine3.updateAfterEvent();

    };
    ................
    www.oc88.com
    ................

  3. #3
    Senior Member dudeqwerty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bosnia
    Posts
    1,626
    mate, thanks for the help but it didnt work,

    n e other ideas?



    thanks,
    zlatan..

  4. #4
    Banned NTD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3,438
    Hi,

    This will work for 2 movieclips. I have not tried to extend it to more than 2 ....

    code:

    function makeLine(name, depth, lineSize, color, alpha, posA, posB) {
    this.createEmptyMovieClip(name, depth);
    with (this[name]) {
    lineStyle(lineSize, color, alpha);
    moveTo(_root[posA]._x, _root[posA]._y);
    lineTo(_root[posB]._x, _root[posB]._y);
    }
    }
    _root.onEnterFrame = function() {
    makeLine("line", 1, 2, "0xFF0000", 100, "mc1", "mc2");
    }
    _root.MC2.onPress = function() {
    startDrag("MC2");
    }
    _root.MC2.onRelease = function() {
    stopDrag();
    }
    _root.MC1.onPress = function() {
    startDrag("MC1");
    }
    _root.MC1.onRelease = function() {
    stopDrag();
    }


  5. #5
    Senior Member dudeqwerty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bosnia
    Posts
    1,626
    no luck, that didnt work either!?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    On the fifth floor.
    Posts
    1,202
    Let's say we have 4 movieClips "mc1","mc2","mc3" and "mc4". Then just put this code on the first frame.
    Code:
    MovieClip.prototype.dragMe = function(){
    	this.onPress = function(){
    		this.startDrag(false)
    	}
    	this.onRelease = this.onReleaseOutside = function(){
    		this.stopDrag()
    	}						 
    }
    
    for(i=1;i<=4;i++){
    	_root["mc"+i].dragMe();
    	_root.createEmptyMovieClip("myLine"+i, i);
    	this["myLine"+i].moveTo(_root["mc"+i]._x,_root["mc"+i]._y)
    }
    this.onMouseMove = function(){
    	with(myLine1){
    	clear();
    	lineTo(_root.mc1._x, _root.mc1._y);
    	lineStyle(.05, 0x00ff00, 100);
    	lineTo(_root.mc2._x, _root.mc2._y);
    };
    	with(myLine2){
    	clear()
    	lineTo(_root.mc2._x, _root.mc2._y);
    	lineStyle(.05, 0x00ff00, 100);
    	lineTo(_root.mc3._x, _root.mc3._y);
    };
    	with(myLine3){
    	clear();
    	lineTo(_root.mc3._x, _root.mc3._y);
    	lineStyle(.05, 0x00ff00, 100);
    	lineTo(_root.mc4._x, _root.mc4._y);
    };
    	with(myLine4){
    	clear();
    	lineTo(_root.mc4._x, _root.mc4._y);
    	lineStyle(.05, 0x00ff00, 100);
    	lineTo(_root.mc1._x, _root.mc1._y);
    	};
    	updateAfterEvent();
    }
    You can see that some parts of the code are almost the same. So we can write this code in more simple way.

  7. #7
    Senior Member dudeqwerty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bosnia
    Posts
    1,626
    ledgend!!!

    if you may, one more question, how do i set up hittests for the lines?
    i have tried
    code:
    onClipEvent (enterFrame) {
    setProperty(_root.bal, _x, getProperty(this, _x)+_root.val);
    setProperty(_root.bal, _y, getProperty(this, _y)+_root.valy);
    if ((this.hitTest(_root.myLine1._x, _root.myLine1._y, true))||(this.hitTest(_root.myLine2._x, _root.myLine2._y, true))||(this.hitTest(_root.myLine3._x, _root.myLine3._y, true))||(this.hitTest(_root.myLine4._x, _root.myLine4._y, true))){
    _root.val *= -1;
    _root.valy *= -1;
    }
    trace((this.hitTest(_root.myLine1._x, _root.myLine1._y, true))||(this.hitTest(_root.myLine2._x, _root.myLine2._y, true))||(this.hitTest(_root.myLine3._x, _root.myLine3._y, true))||(this.hitTest(_root.myLine4._x, _root.myLine4._y, true)))
    }

    Last edited by dudeqwerty; 05-31-2005 at 04:22 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center