A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Preloader, flash intro to web page question

Trying hard to get it

Preloader, flash intro to web page question

Yes, I am new to flash. No, I am not new to HTML but right now the Left brain is not connecting to the right.

I am making a portfolio site. I want to have a cool flash intro (about 14 sec long) then on to the website. I am currently working on the intro and burning my eyebrows having to figure out flash by myself. (I am an art director w/ 14 yrs experience in Photoshop, illustrator and all that good stuff that is dying to get into the moving images world) The only downside is everyone around me is as non-flash as I and nobody can help me.

OK, on to my question... I am making this intro. I have the intro done but I can't figure out how does the preloader come into the whole thing. The intro will be a swf file. When people go into my website the HTML page will tell the swf file to start loading and play automatically? Or do I have to have a preloader? how does the preloader exist? Is it a movie clip in my intro swf or how does it work?

Once I have the swf file done I imagine I have to put a button for them to click on to go on to the web page? Or can you automatically end the swf file and drop them into the html page? The transition of these items got me confused. How big a file must be to have a preloader?

I appreciate the explanation. I have web sites done but they are only using html, javascript and css. I want to get flash going in my sites!! Waaaah!!! Any help I can get will be appreciated!!

well basically a preloader is just a generic term used to check if somethign has loaded..

based off the results (true/false) you can can do whatever.

Now depending on how you author your .swf's if how they will react.

You create a movie (intro)..embed it into an HTML page..upload it to the web..and try to view it....what happens is what you TOLD it to do when making it.