A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Basic Actions menu? where?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    16

    Basic Actions menu? where?

    Hey guys,
    i'm relatively new to flash, and i'm using Flash 2004 MX for PC.

    when i open the "actions" toolbar, all i see is this:


    I cant seem to find the basic actions menu like this (highlighted in red box):

    i know that this is from an earler version of flash (ver 5 i think), but how do i enable it in flash 2004 MX?

    what do i need to click to enable the basic menu?
    thanks in advance.
    Last edited by novafishy; 09-18-2005 at 11:06 PM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    325
    i've been wondering the same thing too. Although i rarely use the basic action script thing. It did make a few things quicker.
    if you figure it out let me know

  3. #3
    Mental Ward Patient Blips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    482
    its not there. ever think tehre was a reason its called professional ?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    107
    They have a similar thing called behaviors in flash mx 2004 (Window>Development Panels>Behavours) but it is a bit limited.

    Flash 8 brought it back to how it used to be but now they call it Script Assist

  5. #5
    Senior Member Dricciotti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    2,988
    Try going to the top right icon (looks like a bulleted list with a arrow pointing down from it) and select the option "Normal Mode" or just hit Ctrl + Shift + N

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    16
    Thanks for the quick responses guys, but Dricciotti, i've tried what you said and it doesnt work. there is no "normal mode" under the drop down menu for the top right icon (looks like a bulleted list with a arrow pointing down from it)

    "Ctrl + Shift + N" doesnt do anything either.
    is there any way else to go around this? or are we doomed?

  7. #7
    FK Slacker
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    vancouver
    Posts
    3,208
    There is no Normal Mode in MX2004...

    K.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    325
    Quote Originally Posted by Blips
    its not there. ever think tehre was a reason its called professional ?
    I wouldent say that flash professionals dont use basic.
    Im damn good at flash action script and i find the basic menu good for some things, such as for formation a getURl command to open in the correct window. The only problem with it was that i had to switch to basic mode, enter it, and switch back to regular mode.

    Hopefully FLash 8's "Script Assist" has a better way to use it for my needs.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Dricciotti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    2,988
    Ive never once used the normal mode and do just fine when flash just tells me the order of the parameters.

  10. #10
    Bearded (M|G)od MyFriendIsATaco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Awesomeville.
    Posts
    3,046
    I agree, I have never once used the Normal mode either...except when I first started and I didn't realize that there was an Expert mode, haha...I think you should know AS well enough to be able to always use Expert mode...If I need help with different parameters or a specific function, I either refer to the help file...or the hints that pop up that tell you what they are...

    Now to answer the question...Flash MX 2004 does not have a Normal Mode!

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    16
    Ok thanks guys. Now i know. i'm very new to AS, so thus the reason for the need for basic menu.

  12. #12
    Monkey Moderator Lexicon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,038
    You should never need basic mode as the code hints you get are pretty good.
    If you follow the standard naming convention and/or type all your variables/objects then you will get a list pop up as you type in revealing all the properties and methods associated with it.

    *standard object suffix
    _mc --> MovieClip
    _array --> Array
    _str --> String
    _btn --> Button
    _txt --> TextField
    _fmt --> TextFormat
    _date --> Date
    _sound --> Sound
    _xml --> XML
    _xmlsocket --> XMLSocket
    _color --> Color
    _camera --> Camera
    _mic --> Microphone
    _stream --> NetStream
    _connection --> NetConnection
    _so --> SharedObject
    _video --> Video

    so if i call my movieClip my_mc and type in my_mc. a list will pop up with all the relevant properties and methods assiciated with movieClips.

    The same would happen if i wrote...

    var myClip:MovieClip;
    myClip.

    because i have typed the variable.

    For the methods, you are helped further by a list of the required parameters as you type it in or select from the code hint list.
    www.lexicon-design.co.uk
    If we aren't supposed to eat animals, then why are they made of meat?
    If Vegetarians like animals so much, why do they eat all their food?

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    16
    Thanks Lex, you are a great help! cheers!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center