A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Borders

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    105

    Borders

    For the life of me I just can not figure out what I am not doing, or doing wrong.

    After creating a basic website I open the site as html and there is a small border around teh flash area. If I try and access the site using the swf extention it still has a border.

    How can I put the site into a web page and have no borders. With it able to re-size itself and not look distorted.

    Thanks in advance for any help.

  2. #2
    FK's Official Mac Hater jasonsplace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Provo, Utah
    Posts
    2,245
    Do you have a link?
    Jason L. Wright
    I'm not that hard to imitate. Just make some random negative claim at Apple or anything else for that matter and then have nothing to back it up.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    105
    Here is a link of something I just put up for an example...

    http://www.borderlinedesigns.com/Borders/border.html

    As you will notice it's not filling the entire screen. Even with changing border.html to border.swf it still seems to have room on both sides.

    I in the publish settings made sure that it was set to percent for W/H. So if you have any ideas please let me know. Or should I change to a different setting which is more comman?

    I welcome any suggestions.

    http://www.borderlinedesigns.com/mydesign/ <-- another site I've been trying to play with.

    Also trying a different look for the link above....
    http://www.borderlinedesigns.com/look/newlook.swf which still has borders, which I do not want.

  4. #4
    FK's Official Mac Hater jasonsplace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Provo, Utah
    Posts
    2,245
    HTML pages by default have a border. you gotta use:
    <body style="margin:0;">
    Jason L. Wright
    I'm not that hard to imitate. Just make some random negative claim at Apple or anything else for that matter and then have nothing to back it up.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    105
    it's got rid of the top and bottom border but the side borders still remain.

    http://www.borderlinedesigns.com/look/newlook.html

    hmm...

    it's worked on the other site perfectly...

    http://www.borderdesigns.com/mydesign/
    Last edited by prches; 10-27-2005 at 07:50 AM.

  6. #6
    FK's Official Mac Hater jasonsplace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Provo, Utah
    Posts
    2,245
    I just tried it in my computer in Firefox and IE. It works just fine in IE7 but nothing shows p in Firefox...I don't know why...I am using Flash Player 8. I know that on some old IE browsers it saves a border on the right hand side for a scroll bar if the site doesn't have one. In IE7 there is always a scrollbar.
    Jason L. Wright
    I'm not that hard to imitate. Just make some random negative claim at Apple or anything else for that matter and then have nothing to back it up.

  7. #7
    FK's Geezer Mod Ask The Geezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Out In The Pasture
    Posts
    20,490
    This should work for all browsers. Put it just above the closing head tag;

    <style type="text/css">
    html, body {
    margin: 0;
    padding: 0;
    }
    </style>
    </HEAD>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center