A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: how to make Moving Character correspond to the user key

how to make Moving Character correspond to the user key

Hi all,

Need some guilds so hopefully can get help. Well i have eight bitmap each show the character i draw out. i want to ask how the actionscript will be like in order to make the character correspond to the key, like when i press up it will show the character moving like up and change to left side which i had drawn when i press left key. I am new to flash so need more details. sorry for the trouble. Thanks for reading and really wish you guys can give some advise.

Cheers,
    -=FYProject=-

---
    i press up it will show the character moving like up
    ---
    1) put your bitmap within a movie clip - the movie clip is an object that you can control with ActionScript, a bitmap graphic symbol cannot be controlled by actionscript.

2) change a position on screen by setting new values to the _x (left right), _y (up down) movie clip properties.

on(keyPress "<Up>"){
    cur_y = getProperty("target path to mc",_y); // get current y coordinate
    offset = 5; // number of pixels to shift movie clip
    new_y = cur_y - offset // new y coordinate, make smaller to go up
    setProperty("target path to your movie clip",_y,new_y) // change _y property
    }

on(keyPress "<Down>"){
    cur_y = getProperty("target path to mc",_y);
    offset = 5;
    new_y = cur_y + offset // make larger to push down
    setProperty("target path to your movie clip",_y,new_y)
    }

3) you can use the _rotation property to rotate the mc. Flash rotates the mc around its registration point. This might also be useuful in your game.

---
    change to left side which i had drawn when i press left key
    ---