A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: preloader in flash8?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    80

    preloader in flash8?

    Anyone have any good examples of preloaders in flash8? I cannot get a damn preloader to work.

    here's my current attempt: if anyone can check it out and help me fix it ill be so stoked

    http://www.feelthissite.com/nico/joe...preloader3.fla

    joel

  2. #2
    FK's Geezer Mod Ask The Geezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Out In The Pasture
    Posts
    20,490
    You almost had it, but you forgot the second frame in the Preloader scene. Add a keyframe in frame 2 and add this code to it;

    this.gotoAndPlay(1);

    Add a regular frame in the other layer so you can see it in frame 2. Done.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    80
    Hey!, i tried that, and when i pressed preview for some reason like it just showed my background image, didnt show the preloader bars or anything and almost like froze in place..... any chance you could upload my file that you worked on?

    thanks!

    Joel

  4. #4
    FK's Geezer Mod Ask The Geezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Out In The Pasture
    Posts
    20,490
    Here ya go. Let me know when you got it so I can take it down.

    http://www.flashbax.com/fla/topgraphicpreloader3.zip

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    80
    hey i got the file, for some reason when i "test movie" it still kinda freezes on the first part of it... when you looked at the file, did you see my music player? im thinking maybe i can figure out a way to make the songs streaming so that i dont even erally need a preloader.... although im not sure how to do that, any idea?

    thanks you rock!!!!!
    joel

  6. #6
    FK's Geezer Mod Ask The Geezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Out In The Pasture
    Posts
    20,490
    This FAQ will tell you how to stream sounds.

    http://www.flashkit.com/board/showthread.php?t=649910

  7. #7
    Senior Member Ray Beez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    2,796
    Do you have alot of graphics, sounds and stuff right in frame 1?
    Move it all so it appears later. Otherwise all that stuff will start loading which interrupts the preloader doing it's thing FIRST.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center