A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Help please! My animation is all jerky :(

  1. #1
    Jo
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Loughborough
    Posts
    3

    Help please! My animation is all jerky :(

    Okay, I created a website with a simple animation, take a lookie and you'll see what i mean...

    http://www.brianrodwell.co.uk/jynxeddesign

    it's just on my dad's domain at the moment and not officially up lol but hey...

    yeh anyways you'll see that instead of having a smooth swinging motion, it annoyingly jerks. Well, I tried exploring the reason for this and noticed that when I played the movie, the frame rate went right down from 12fps to something like 2.6fps...and i can't stop it happening! It's really getting to me cos it makes my site look really rubbish! lol! Any help would be much appreciated, maybe there are some settings i should be changing or something? Argh..anyways...thanks

    Jo xxxxx

  2. #2
    XRave tongxn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Somewhere near Here
    Posts
    870
    MMm let's think.. how was that animation made in the first place? is it in a MC and then you tweened the MC or is it just itself?
    by the way, if you have any variables needed setting put them on a seperate frame.

    Maybe a bit more Info on how that was created will help us to help you.
    When you actually know what "OMG I have so much homework!" means, you won't want to be me.
    Xrave

  3. #3
    Jo
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Loughborough
    Posts
    3
    I tweened the movie clip...may that be the problem? I did so because it is the menu and it was easier to do it that way...maybe I should only make it the menu when it's finished?..
    .:Jynx:.

  4. #4
    XRave tongxn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Somewhere near Here
    Posts
    870
    MMM think about making it move using ActionScript...
    OK?
    When you actually know what "OMG I have so much homework!" means, you won't want to be me.
    Xrave

  5. #5
    Jo
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Loughborough
    Posts
    3
    ill try...not sure how ill do it though, lol thankyou anyways
    .:Jynx:.

  6. #6
    XRave tongxn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Somewhere near Here
    Posts
    870
    ... nor do i ...
    ... I only know that you can change rotation, but I don't know how to make it swing around...

    MC._rotation = value

    That will rotate the MovieClip by a value... Let's think it this way...

    firstFrame:
    Say your MC's instance name is myMC

    Code:
    onClipEvent(enterFrame) {
    	var backwards = 0
    	var rotation += 3
    	if (backwards = 0) {
    		myMC._rotation += 3;
    	}
    	//I don't know.. how do you stop this loop VVVVVV
    	if (rotation == 30) {
    		var backwards = 1
    	}
    	//if you can somehow stop this loop of this If ^^^^
    	if (backwards == 1) {
    		myMC._rotation -= 3
    	}
    	if (rotation == -20) {
    		// .... just do this???
    	}
    	//That's the best i could do.
    }
    Well... sorry.
    When you actually know what "OMG I have so much homework!" means, you won't want to be me.
    Xrave

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center