A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: [MX04] newbie event help

[MX04] newbie event help

I'm new to all this. I've got a couple pictures converted to movie clips. I've got thumbnails of each that work as buttons for the corrosponding pics. what i want to do is, each time a thumb is clicked, the last picture fades out, and the new pic fades in. my question is, how do i tell my movie clip that's fading in to wait until the last pictures done fading out?

what i would do is:

set a variable currentPic to store the current picture MC
    code:
    on(release) { //for the thumbnail
    _root.currentPic.onEnterFrame=function() {
    this._alpha-=5;
    if(this._alpha<=0) {
    this.onEnterFrame=function(){};
    _root.currentPic=_root.pic4 //change to the corresponding pic for the thumbnail
    _root.currentPic.onEnterFrame=function() {
    _root.currentPic._alpha+=5;
    if(_root.currentPic._alpha>=100) {
    _root.currentPic.onEnterFrame=function(){};
    }
    }
    }
    }
    }

sorry about the many, many levels of indentation. There are many methods that seem much simpler, but i prefer this one because it can all be contained within one event without having to set too many variables.

Unfortunately im not on a pc with flash at the moment so i've just hand coded this and i can't validate this, but if it doesnt work let me know and i'll gladly take another look.
    Last edited by DrDoom; 07-26-2006 at 09:53 AM.
    -luke.slashmedia.co.uk(my site)
    (^.^)