A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Streaming camera Problem

Streaming camera Problem

Hi everyone,

My name is Konda, and I am new to FlashKit.
    I have recently started playing with Flash Communication Server MX, but I have a question.

I have made a simple flash streaming webcam application as described at:

http://www.adobe.com/devnet/flashcom..._receiver.html

Everything works fine when I connect my USB webcam, but when I connect a real camera to my PC (using Firewire / dv), the application does not see the video.

I have tried with multiple camera's and capture cards, but I can't get it to work. When I go to the flash settings, it does see my capture device (Microsoft DV / VCR driver), but it doesn't take any video. The video works fine in for example MSN messenger.

I have tried with the Panasonic dvc30 & canon xm2 directly to firewire and also tried using the Pinnacle capture card.

Is there anything special I need to do to get this to work? Can it work at all? Do I need to modify anything to the script, or does flash streaming only work when using an USB webcam?

If anyone has any solutions or ideas, it's greatly appreciated.

Basically all I need is a flash application that can send the video from a camera attached to the computer to my Flash Communication Server, and the viewers use a flash application to view the webcam. Just like the example, but than it should also work with a real video camera connected to a capture card / firewire / dv in etc.

Thank you very much.

Konda

Bearded (M|G)od MyFriendIsATaco's Avatar
    it only works via USB, thats the only way windows will read it as a webcam. there MIGHT be an application to use firewire or something, but its none that i know of. your camera should also have a plug for USB and the ability for it to be used as a webcam.

Quote Originally Posted by MyFriendIsATaco