A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 42

Thread: pull youtube movie into flash

  1. #1
    AKA [ Paul Bainbridge] webdreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    3,320

    pull youtube movie into flash

    He guys,

    I know that it is possible to load youtube player along with linked swf into an html page. Is it possible to load the movie or and player it flash it's self?

    thanks.
    .: To me AS is like LEGO, Only for the big Kids :.
    - Site - Blog - Twitter - Linkedin
    bringmadeleinehome.com

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    237
    Hi there,

    Did you ever get an answer to this?

    Thanks

  3. #3
    AKA [ Paul Bainbridge] webdreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    3,320
    yes but with bugs
    code:

    videoLoader_mc.loadMovie("http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C_mYgJtnX1Y&autoplay=1");

    .: To me AS is like LEGO, Only for the big Kids :.
    - Site - Blog - Twitter - Linkedin
    bringmadeleinehome.com

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    237
    Yeah, that looks way too easy. Did you end up using it for anything commercial, or was it too unstable (Client wanting to save money on bandwidth by having YouTube kindly host the sites flv content)

  5. #5
    AKA [ Paul Bainbridge] webdreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    3,320
    Not at this point in time. I am in the same postion as yourself.

    I was asked if it was possible. Did some test's and told the client it was sort of possible and that was the last i herd.

    There seems to be no probelm if your using a html based site. There is code availble for that but nothing for flash.
    .: To me AS is like LEGO, Only for the big Kids :.
    - Site - Blog - Twitter - Linkedin
    bringmadeleinehome.com

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    237
    I guess there's nothing in it for youTube if they can't get their branding on the player. Maybe Joost is the one to watch.

    Thanks anyway

  7. #7
    AKA [ Paul Bainbridge] webdreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    3,320
    I guess there's nothing in it for youTube if they can't get their branding on the player.
    There branding is on the movie being loaded in and the controls.
    Just seem to have a scaling issue
    .: To me AS is like LEGO, Only for the big Kids :.
    - Site - Blog - Twitter - Linkedin
    bringmadeleinehome.com

  8. #8
    forever Newbie brunodario's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Brasil
    Posts
    256
    Code:
    System.security.allowDomain("http://www.youtube.com");
    System.security.loadPolicyFile("http://www.youtube.com/crossdomain.xml");
    _root.createEmptyMovieClip("v_mc",_root.getNextHighestDepth());
    _root.v_mc.loadMovie("http://www.youtube.com/v/2inVnj-GygE");
    You have to download Policy Files and allow youtube as a domain
    I wanna ROCK

  9. #9
    AKA [ Paul Bainbridge] webdreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    3,320
    I dont have a problem loading the movie but the scaling is whey off
    .: To me AS is like LEGO, Only for the big Kids :.
    - Site - Blog - Twitter - Linkedin
    bringmadeleinehome.com

  10. #10
    forever Newbie brunodario's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Brasil
    Posts
    256
    Looks bigger right? Same problem here, actually i arrive to your thread by searching for a solution to this. No luck.
    I wanna ROCK

  11. #11
    AKA [ Paul Bainbridge] webdreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    3,320
    Yep. No new information here then
    .: To me AS is like LEGO, Only for the big Kids :.
    - Site - Blog - Twitter - Linkedin
    bringmadeleinehome.com

  12. #12
    Lost in Actionscript
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    16
    would it work if you loaded a web page into the Flash page? and the web page has the code for the youtube video. I'm new to this so is there any way to load the web page into flash? That is one way that I thought of just can't figure out how to load the page in flash

  13. #13
    AKA [ Paul Bainbridge] webdreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    3,320
    No you cannot load an html page into flash. Well not in the sense that you want to
    Search fk "load html page flash"
    .: To me AS is like LEGO, Only for the big Kids :.
    - Site - Blog - Twitter - Linkedin
    bringmadeleinehome.com

  14. #14
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by webdreamer
    Is it possible to load the movie or and player it flash it's self?
    Yes, click the link in my signature... It cost me like fifty bucks but it was worth it. You know how on MySpace (i know you have one lol doesnt everyone?) you just copy the generated HTML codes for videos? Well this program converts AVI, WMV and others into Flash and generates the code so you just have to copy and paste it wherever you want...

  15. #15
    AKA [ Paul Bainbridge] webdreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    3,320
    Were talking0a bout youtube movies.
    .: To me AS is like LEGO, Only for the big Kids :.
    - Site - Blog - Twitter - Linkedin
    bringmadeleinehome.com

  16. #16
    Senior Member Jaffasoft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    On Travel
    Posts
    1,588
    I'm heading into the area of YouTube clips and embeding them into a forum using the ones that I collect from a youtube group I formed. It's all a bit of a learning curve and working on it slowly!

    But for my home page I want to customize it with some YouTubes in flash. I'm having the same problem with the size and scale of the clips although this code scales it, it makes the player controls scale to small as well. So I have subscribed to this thread.

    This pretty much does the same as the above code I will also add that System.security to it, this below bit works OK.

    Code:
    clip_size =45;
    this.youtubeMC._xscale = this.youtubeMC._yscale = clip_size;
    this.clip_2._xscale = this.clip_2._yscale =clip_size;
    youtubeMC.loadMovie("http://www.youtube.com/v/aJtNZoj0-XI&autoplay=1");
    clip_2.loadMovie("http://www.youtube.com/v/OzQIaeMT8Dg");
    Embedding a clip into flash is only the beginning I want to be able to pull in other information from YouTube as well later such as feature clips and YouTube gallery from a group of channel etc. So it any bright sparks can come along and help with some advice in this thread that would be great.

  17. #17
    Senior Member Jaffasoft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    On Travel
    Posts
    1,588
    Anyone know why this will load different clips into the one MC when in test movie mode but when it uploads to the web it won't change the movie playing?

    youtube_1_btn.onPress = function() {
    youtubemc.loadMovie("http://www.youtube.com/v/OzQIaeMT8Dg");
    };
    youtube_2_btn.onPress = function() {
    youtubemc.loadMovie("http://www.youtube.com/v/aJtNZoj0-XI");
    };

  18. #18
    AKA [ Paul Bainbridge] webdreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    3,320
    I thought i had it then discovered that youtube would change the random string therefore after a couple of hours the movie would no longer load and would have to got back to youtube and get a new link code.

    I gave up gracefully.
    .: To me AS is like LEGO, Only for the big Kids :.
    - Site - Blog - Twitter - Linkedin
    bringmadeleinehome.com

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    8
    I'm having a problem with Up Loading QT to U Tube with sound. I am using MP3's as the sound source in my Flash movies but when I convert them to QT I lose all the sound files. Does anyone know why QT is not taking them???

    Thanks!

  20. #20
    AKA [ Paul Bainbridge] webdreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    3,320
    Since this thread has nothing to do with uploading to youtube i doubt anyone can help.
    .: To me AS is like LEGO, Only for the big Kids :.
    - Site - Blog - Twitter - Linkedin
    bringmadeleinehome.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center