A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 85

Thread: Is there a better way to parallax?

  1. #61
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    56
    That link went to what looks like your index page...
    no FLA however?

  2. #62
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    56
    Did you try to set - locked = false;
    at the end of the time line of the fridge swf?
    Does that work?

    > j

  3. #63
    Senior Member jessicacrandall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Ozark Mountains!
    Posts
    153
    pooh!

    it's: http://taprootstudios.com/2-20-06_mx.fla

    not html -- I must be on sleep deprived auto pilot :-(

    I did try the locked=false in the .swf, but I can't get it to control the parent...

    Good thought!

  4. #64
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    56
    I think the answer is something to do with setting a "_global" variable for the lock/unlock. I'm looking it up now. Let you know what I come up with.

  5. #65
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    56
    I think i got it...

    In the main FLA use this for the lock Var:
    _global.locked = false;

    On the Fridge FLA...
    Well here...

    SCRATCH THIS!
    Works but not great effect..
    There's has to be a better way, just cant figure it out yet.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Jason Inch; 02-20-2007 at 08:13 PM.

  6. #66
    Senior Member jessicacrandall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Ozark Mountains!
    Posts
    153
    Humm I am not getting it to work :-(

    When I put: _root._global.locked = true;
    -OR-
    _global.locked = true;

    in the parent movie, it has no effect. Only _root.locked=true seems to lock the parent movie, and then the .swf with the _global command does not unlock it.

    Are you getting different results???

    Man, thanks so much for working on this! I would be in MAJOR panic without all of this fine help!

    _designer.jess=crazy

  7. #67
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    56
    Hey Jess,

    Hmmm - you mean not so fine help - I thought i had it working but... Now i'm not so sure.
    What I did was take the lock off the main Fla and place that global var in the external swf.

    Now i just think it didnt lock it at all!

    Still playing with it though - sorry for leading you on with this global thing - thought it was the right track?

    Did you double check the instance names on the main Fla, may just be a targeting issue?
    ie: instance name: mc_fridgezoom
    Last edited by Jason Inch; 02-20-2007 at 09:11 PM.

  8. #68
    Senior Member jessicacrandall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Ozark Mountains!
    Posts
    153
    I WISH it was just targeting... I cut and pasted it just to make sure. It is kinda hard to tell if the main movie is locked when you can't see it behind the loaded movie.

    OKAY TEAM!
    A (virtual) GREEN JELLYBEAN PRIZE will be
    awarded to the scripter who can:


    UNLOCK a "_root.locked=true" in a "_level0" movie
    from a loaded "_level1" movie.

    Thanks for your entry in advance!

  9. #69
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    56
    I know this isnt the answer but, if your in a jam one way to get around this is instead of using external swf's... why not make it apart of the original FLA as a MC - set the alpha = 0 and just call it to play when needed. This way you can set the lock/unlock as needed.

    I havent used to many external swf's before - so i'm not sure of the benefits, if any? But this may give you some temporary relief.

    Sorry for the lame tech response but still learning this stuff my self.
    Hope that helps?

    > j

  10. #70
    Senior Member jessicacrandall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Ozark Mountains!
    Posts
    153
    Sorry dude... Nice vie for the bean, but that solution won't help me this time. It IS a very good thought though :-)

    External .swf's are great because you only have to wait for them to load IF you need to interact with them. Because this level0 mc is going to be the main navigation for my site, many time folks will just be passing thru, not needing all of these external movies. Each one of these external mc that I have (total 3) are around 100k each, so having them in the main movie would just be too heavy.

    I like the way you think! I am VERY open to a work around!!

    AND THE JELLY BEAN remains UNCLAIMED!!

  11. #71
    Senior Member calmchess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,588
    I've had problems with loading movies into level 0 in the past will loading it into _level1 help any ?
    ~calmchess~

  12. #72
    Senior Member jessicacrandall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Ozark Mountains!
    Posts
    153
    No, I am loading the external clip into _level1

    I just need it to control the unlocking of _level0 when it unloads.

    Is that more clear?

    -J

  13. #73
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    56
    Hey Jess,

    Posted a thread for you on Kirupa..
    This is what came back --> http://www.kirupa.com/forum/showthre...=1#post2069202

    I dont have time to experiment but maybe this will put you on track?

    Sorry i cant be more help.

    > j

  14. #74
    Senior Member jessicacrandall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Ozark Mountains!
    Posts
    153
    Thanks J! Appreciate you trying--very kind!

    I am trying to simplify this down to its guts:

    1. On frame one _level0 movie is unlocked
    2. On frame two the _level0 movie changes coordinates, locks = true, and loads an external .swf into _level1
    3. One frame three the _level0 movie is told "_level0.locked = false

    So I just need the external .swf (that loads into _level1) to:
    code:
    _level0.mc_fridgezoom.gotoAndPlay("unlockfridge"); //naming the frame does not seem to help
    -OR-
    _level0.mc_fridgezoom.gotoAndPlay(3);



    -- but this is not working. I put a green blob graphic on (3) so I could see if it plays, and it is not.

    So how do you get the _level1 movie to advance _level0 to a desired frame?

    ideas?
    Last edited by jessicacrandall; 02-21-2007 at 02:33 PM.

  15. #75
    Senior Member jessicacrandall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Ozark Mountains!
    Posts
    153
    RESOLVED!!

    And the green jellybean goes to dawsonk! It turned out I had the movie clip nested twice.
    To get the path of the movie clip, put...
    code:

    trace(this)



    Quote Originally Posted by dawsonk
    In file 2-21_07_mx...
    Scene 1 : image_mc : symbol2
    layer: fridge
    Give movie clip an instance name of 'fridgezoom'

    In file Fridge-final_mx2
    layer: a, frame 21
    Code:
    _level0.image_mc.image_mc.fridgezoom.play("unlockfridge");
    Works like magic!

    Just wanted ya'll here in parallax land not to be worried about me ;-)

    Thanks to all and happy scripting!

  16. #76
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    56
    Yeah,

    I was going to get to that... eventually!
    I noticed that the other day but still wasnt able to get it going so i gave up... So ashamed : (

    Anyway. i hope you enjoy your fancy jelly bean!
    Give us a shout when you complete the project, curious on how it works out.

    Congrats
    > j

    ps. i didnt notice any parallaxing there... ?
    ya know... There is a prerequisite to get in the club.
    But i supose i could look the other way... for now!

    Parallax 4EVA == Hooot!

  17. #77
    Senior Member jessicacrandall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Ozark Mountains!
    Posts
    153
    NO WAY! Please don't be ashamed of not finding the solution!

    Jason, it was your posts on this thread that got me back on track in the first place!

    It folks like you who are willing to help out some random Flasher in Arkansas that give web communities a great name!

    YOU ROCK!!!

    Annnd of course I will let ya'll know when I launch! The "Chewy Cafe" is back on schedule!

    -HA!!! Ed. note: Started out with parallaxing, but in the small room was making me sea sick ;-)
    As this site expands I will be using your awesome navigation to move it all around! :-D


    ==HOOT
    Last edited by jessicacrandall; 02-22-2007 at 08:38 PM.

  18. #78
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    29
    Old thread I know, but I am looking for a freelancer to help with a simple horizontal parallax project. Let me know if any of you parallax-masters are interested.

    -mx

  19. #79
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    56
    I wouldn't call myself a master but i think I may be able to help out none the less. What are you looking to do?

    > j

    Jason Inch
    Inch Designs
    http://www.inchdesigns.com/
    Last edited by Jason Inch; 05-10-2007 at 08:23 AM.

  20. #80
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    29
    I took the code from that Flashkit parallax sample and it worked fine except 1) the mouse actions still track even outside of the flash stage and 2) it scrolls too far and exceeds the images and 3) I need to be able to load it via loadmovie and the scripts are using _root references so the action doesn't work when it is loaded. Here is a link to a swf and to the fla.

    Thanks

    -mx

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center