A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 40 of 40

Thread: !! Recreating the Most Amazing platform game ever !!! ZELIARD !!!

  1. #21
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Albania , prishtina
    Posts
    274
    Here is Flash MX 2004 Version of a file ...

    Does anyone know why its going slow when scrooling , is it because the map is too big ??
    And , its changing the position when the player , touches the door .I need to do it when the player touches the door and press UP key ( so when player is not touching the door , with UP key he will jump , when he touch the UP key is for chaning position to its destination ) !!

    Thanks !!
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #22
    Insignificant Member Joshman_123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    395
    Forgot how to check for multiple conditions but from memory it's something like this...

    if (hitTest(_root.door)==true) && (Key.isDown(Key.UP)) {
    etc...

    I am a massive noob though. I tend to use Flash solidly for a while then abandon it, so I never really advance my knowledge.

    EDIT: I'm not as much of a noob as this post made me sound. I know stuff, I just don't KNOW it.
    I have like, a gazillion posts on my other account.

  3. #23
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Albania , prishtina
    Posts
    274
    i think , It wont work with hitTest , its tile Based game !!

  4. #24
    M.D. mr_malee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Shelter
    Posts
    4,139
    give each tile prototype a type value, check this value when entering a cell, if the upKey is pressed and the type is "door" then your all set. You might be able to use instanceof but i'm not sure if that works with AS1 classes.

    so

    if(tile.type == "Door" && Key.isDown(Key.UP)) //teleport

    or

    if(tile instanceof Door && Key.isDown(Key.UP)) //teleport
    lather yourself up with soap - soap arcade

  5. #25
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Albania , prishtina
    Posts
    274
    Thanks mr malee , but i've done it ...

    Here is example in Flash Pro 8 and Flash MX 2004 :
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by pumi; 05-11-2007 at 04:49 AM.

  6. #26
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Albania , prishtina
    Posts
    274
    And , when i make the Player bigger ( i want it to be 3 tiles tall ) , it dont work so good !!

    I couldnt figure out what i have to change in my code ??

  7. #27
    Insignificant Member Joshman_123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    395
    Quote Originally Posted by pumi
    i think , It wont work with hitTest , its tile Based game !!
    Whoops. =S

    Well in that case, I have no idea about anything to do with tile-based games. =/
    I have like, a gazillion posts on my other account.

  8. #28
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Albania , prishtina
    Posts
    274
    PLZ , can someone help me ??!!

  9. #29
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Albania , prishtina
    Posts
    274
    And this code is in flash player 5 and actionscript 1 !!!!

    When i put it in flash player 8 and actionscript 2 , it wont work ???

    and as i said when i make the player bigger , it isnt working good !!

    Noone knows the problem , or what .... why noone is helping ??

    Thanks !!

  10. #30
    M.D. mr_malee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Shelter
    Posts
    4,139
    do you understand tiles and their concept?

    how do you mean not working good? performance?

    and what doesn't work when its in player 8?
    lather yourself up with soap - soap arcade

  11. #31
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Albania , prishtina
    Posts
    274
    I think i understand tiles , but i dont think that i can modify it !!

    And when i make player bigger (3 tiles tall) , i cant controll the player , first he cant move , then when i press the button to JUMP he isnt jumping , only like flying he is going to the top of level ....

    And when its on player 8 , it cant even make built the level . its freezing , then its saying that the movie is playing too slow , do you want to abort the script , or something like that .

    I dont know , WHY !!!

  12. #32
    Hype over content... Squize's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Lost forever in a happy crowd...
    Posts
    5,926
    Mate, ending every sentence with !!!! isn't the most endearing way to get help ( It's like finishing every sentence with "lol" ).

    Back to the subject matter, if it's freezing comment out all the functions, and then uncomment them one at a time until you find the one that causes the freeze.
    Then, comment each line in that and repeat the process. 99 times out of 100 this will show you your problem ( It sounds like an infinite loop, so check all your loops carefully ).

    Debugging isn't an art, it's just part of being a developer, and for the most part common sense. Reduce all the possibilities and what you're left with is usually the answer.

    Fix that, then look at the jumping bug ( Work out how the tile collision works, are you testing the top of the movieclip against the tile correctly etc. )

    Squize.

  13. #33
    Truimagz.com everfornever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    1,306
    your resized palyer prolly isnt working because your doing a charwidth/2 to determine his current tile.

  14. #34
    :
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    3,518
    1) Changed function jump to doJump, to avoid conflict with 'jump' variable.
    2) Changed typo of 'newMap' to 'newmap', to fix case sensitivity issue.
    3) Initialized variables fixx and fixy outside of if..else statement in buildMap function.
    4) Changed 'and' operators to '&&' throughout.

    Now it runs under F7 AS2 without locking up. HTH

    See attached file...
    Last edited by dawsonk; 08-22-2007 at 10:50 AM.

  15. #35
    Pumpkin Carving 2008 ImprisonedPride's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids MI
    Posts
    2,378
    Squize is right lol. It can push people away because to us you're coming off quite pushy and demanding lol. Relax and try to explain to us exactly what's not working, clearly and as detailed as possible lol. Also try to take a look at TonyPA's tutorials lol. LOL.
    The 'Boose':
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 TUF
    Intel Core i7-2600K Quad-Core Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz Overclocked to 4.2GHz
    8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 DDR3
    ASUS ENGTX550 TI DC/DI/1GD5 GeForce GTX 550 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 1GDDR5 (Overclocked to 1.1GHz)
    New addition: OCZ Vertex 240GB SATA III SSD
    WEI Score: 7.6

  16. #36
    Student
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    -
    Posts
    4,756
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LOL_(Internet_slang) as some people do not know where to place it correctly

  17. #37
    Hype over content... Squize's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Lost forever in a happy crowd...
    Posts
    5,926
    Argh, IP don't do the lol thing even in jest mate.

    Man that turns my stomach. "I'm making an rpg lol" What the hell is there to laugh out loud for there ? Have these people never actually heard a joke ?

    And... back to the thread.

    Squize.

  18. #38
    Pumpkin Carving 2008 ImprisonedPride's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids MI
    Posts
    2,378
    Quote Originally Posted by Squize
    Argh, IP don't do the lol thing even in jest mate.

    Man that turns my stomach. "I'm making an rpg lol" What the hell is there to laugh out loud for there ? Have these people never actually heard a joke ?

    And... back to the thread.

    Squize.
    [offtopic]
    Yeah, in a mmorpg that I play, all of my guild members have voted me the loller out of the entire group... lol. Anyhow, now that they've done it, I can't seem to feel dumb every time I do it, but it's a fairly hard habit to break once you develop it.
    [/offtopic]
    The 'Boose':
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 TUF
    Intel Core i7-2600K Quad-Core Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz Overclocked to 4.2GHz
    8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 DDR3
    ASUS ENGTX550 TI DC/DI/1GD5 GeForce GTX 550 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 1GDDR5 (Overclocked to 1.1GHz)
    New addition: OCZ Vertex 240GB SATA III SSD
    WEI Score: 7.6

  19. #39
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Albania , prishtina
    Posts
    274
    Dawsonk , thanks for your help .

    And you IP , go " LOL " somewhere else other , not here .

    everfornever , ive tried everything else doing , in place of charwidth/2 , but i couldnt make it work ...

    And for all , i am sorry for asking to much , but i just want to make that game .

  20. #40
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Albania , prishtina
    Posts
    274
    And by the way , i am 15 years old , and i am still learning ActionScripts .
    Ive bought a book .... ActionScript Bible. I think it is good enought for beginners .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center