A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Button play random layer animation?

Button play random layer animation?

Firs thing version Flash 8
    I hope this is the right place to post it, random functions are under math so I assume it is.
    I have no idea how to do this, I have some basic knowledge of C++ but it does not help me here.
    I want a button to do a random number, and based on that number it will set a variable, and play animations on specified layers.

if you cant help, maybe someone could just give me a resource, on doing random numbers, and setting variables?

Here's how you make a variable of type Number (equivalent to C's double)

Code:
    var x:Number;
    you can then set it like so:

Code:
    x = 10;
    To get a random number, use the Math.random() function. This returns a floating point # between 0 and 1.

You can then scale that number to have a wider range. For example, here's how you'd get a random (whole) number between 0 - 10

Code:
    var x:Number = Math.round(Math.random()*10)
    I'm not sure what you mean by playing an animation in a certain layer. In flash you can't really tell what layers objects are in by code. You can control them by the name of the movieclips though
    Pixelwave Flash-based iPhone framework
    iPhone Games: Flyloop | Freedom Run

Twitter: Oztune

RE: random numbers

Now im curious, how do random numbers in Flash/action script work? C++ random numbers arent truly random, but you can modify a script to multiply random number, and get a variable from checking the actual time, that way every second you would get a new number, otherwise if you simply did random number if you restarted a program you would notice the same pattern every time, not truly random.
    does the random script in flash/acitonscript need to be modified that way as well?

From what I understand, Flash works very similarly, but is a bit more 'automated'.