A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Launching .exe from within flash?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    11

    Launching .exe from within flash?

    I am trying to make my wallpaper interactive having a number of buttons that can launch programs for me. I have tried a few thing and have not gotten it to work. Does anyone know of a way to do this? Thanks for you help!

    Taylor

  2. #2
    Banned deepakflash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    [Object not found]
    Posts
    1,160
    you got to use a getURL to open a batch file(.bat), but this will work on your local disk only, i dont think it works in browser.
    and in your batch file you will have the file name along wih the file path that you need to open
    try this,
    Code:
    getURL(batchfilename.bat,"_blank");
    and in your batch file(.bat)
    just type the location of the file to be opened. example
    Code:
    d:\openFolder\newApplication.exe
    or else, just follow this thread and try fscommand method

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    11
    Alright I will give that a try. I am not familiar with .bat files. Can i just use notepad to make one and name it .bat

  4. #4
    Banned deepakflash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    [Object not found]
    Posts
    1,160
    yea right thats how you do it

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    11
    I cant get that to work do yo think i can use the fscommand to get it to work.

  6. #6
    Banned deepakflash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    [Object not found]
    Posts
    1,160
    yes do it

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center