A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: 3d movement tool

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2

    3d movement tool

    Hi,

    I dont know if this is the right place to put this but I guess you guys will tell me.

    I want to make a flash movie to hold a 3d file which can be moved by the website visitor to see the product from all angles and zoom etc. I mean like you see at phones4u etc where I think they use java.

    I have files in a .stl format but I'm sure I can convert it if necessary.

    If anyone has any idea how I can do that or if a framework already exists that would be brilliant.

    Thanks,

    Martin

  2. #2
    A Senior Newbie - How Odd ForumNewbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    590
    I would think this should be possible in the latest version, though I haven't done much with the new 3D scripting tools. I'm not sure whether it would be fast enough for detailed 3D objects though.

    This is something very basic I did in the old version, and I think the new version has loads more possibilities:
    http://www.morganmultinational.com/spinning_ring.html
    The same method can be used for any 3ds or obj file. This torus was just an example. I don't know how easy it is to add textures onto surfaces though.

    If you search the forum, I think I posted the source code a couple of years back, but can't find it at the moment.

    If you need help, post again, (With a 3ds or obj file) and I'll see if I can do something similar or better with the new version of 3DFA. Also, I think there are others who are much better with the 3D tools than me, so someone else might be able to do better once they've got an object to play with.

    Hope this helps.

    M.
    Please note that my domain has changed to http://www.morganmultinational.com

  3. #3
    A Senior Newbie - How Odd ForumNewbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    590

    Example

    Actually, I'm quite pleased with this one, and how easy it is in the new version, once you work out the 'strict' requirements of the Actionscript in order to export to Flash 9.

    Use the arrow keys, and the 'page up' and 'page down' keys to manipulate the 3D shape in this movie:
    http://www.morgan-multinational.co.u...ve3DShape.html

    Source code attached.

    Hope this is what you were after.

    Morgan.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Please note that my domain has changed to http://www.morganmultinational.com

  4. #4
    Senior Member Zoranan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    126
    It works fine for me in 3DFA, but nothing shows up on export when I export as flash 9... but as flash 8, you cant have 3d...

  5. #5
    3DFA hobby scripter LewxX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Germany, Karlsruhe
    Posts
    198
    Cool, that could be added to the 3DFA samples!

    I hope Kusco will read this

    PS: Export works fine for me
    Last edited by LewxX; 06-09-2008 at 04:53 PM.
    sorry for my bad school English
    btw. visit my Page: projects.lewxx.de
    or lewxx.de (<= German)

  6. #6
    Senior Member Zoranan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    126
    hmmm, I'll try reinstalling 3dfa

  7. #7
    A Senior Newbie - How Odd ForumNewbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    590
    Are you on the very latest version Zoranan?

    Also, does anyone know how to put textures onto 3D models in 3DFA. I'm sure it used to be possible in old versions, but I can't seem to do it in this version.

    I was hoping to use a nice 3D horse model to make it a bit more interesting, but without the textures, it looks a bit naff.

    Cheers,

    Morgan.
    Please note that my domain has changed to http://www.morganmultinational.com

  8. #8
    Senior Member Zoranan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    126
    I reinstalled 3DFA, and it works perfectly now!

    Is there a way to make the model get increasingly blurry as it moves further away?

    Zoranan

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    274
    Sure, check out that blurring thread then calculate proper blur from the object distance... and.. thats it

  10. #10
    Hi, not sure if anyone is still dropping by and answering or able to help, but i'll give it a go and hope there is someone out there.

    As you can see from ForumNebies second post (3rd post down) he has added his 3D Movement tool.
    It works great in the latest version of 3dfa, but i am having what could be basic issues for some of you hardehend users.

    I have tried replacing the 3D element for an image, (which shows) and added 2D physics , i have modified the names within the scripts on each button to point to the image and not the 3D stuff. In the main script i have changed the var name and the 3D to 2D.
    After all this i keep getting an error message about the strict requirements. I have looked at the full source and through very basic knowledge can't see any faults.

    I would eventually move the zoom from the page-up and down keys to the up and down arrows, and could use some help getting the left and right keys to rotate left or right through a series of 8 images, eventually cycling round to the starting point and on.

    If anyone could help me get the above zip file to work with an image rather than the 3d element it would be really appreciated.

    thanks in advance......

  11. #11
    A Senior Newbie - How Odd ForumNewbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    590
    Hello,

    It might be best to post your source code to take a look at Magici@n

    It's a long time since I did the original here, but I might be able to see where you're going wrong. If not, someone else might, as I might not get a chance to look for a little while.

    Cheers,

    Morgan.
    Please note that my domain has changed to http://www.morganmultinational.com

  12. #12
    A Senior Newbie - How Odd ForumNewbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    590
    Ahh. Just thought about that.

    The movement of 2D objects would be completely different to 3D objects. You could perhaps bring the two together by using your 2D object as a texture on one side of a very thin 3D rectangle. To be honest, there's probably a much better and simpler way, but I'd be interested to hear if anyone can help do this, as it might answer the question I had about the horse texture (Above).

    Cheers.
    Please note that my domain has changed to http://www.morganmultinational.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center