A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Exploited Designer?

Exploited Designer?

Hello forum, my first post under a secret name!

I would very much like to hear your pennies of wisdom!

I have worked for almost a year now as an onsite designer for a company who supply digital signage (LCD screens attached to PCs running bespoke templates). I am using bespoke software, much like Flash but with some crazy workarounds and no real scripting. The coding elements are OOP but are drag-and-drop text/number fields. The work was previously outsourced to the software base.

I do a bit of designing, animating with number juggling, coding, copyrighting, limited pitching to clients and I rise to the challenge. I still use flash in my spare time outside of work and design games and such. I am still a very bad coder though with very messy code but I can think in an object/event orientated way.

Now, I am very young only having graduated last year and female. I am sure there must be other similar people out there but I have never met one. Some of my work can be seen in some VERY prominent locations which I am very grateful about.
    I am on a very low wage and wonder...am I cheating the design industry.

My portfolio is very appealing, especially considering I have taken the lead on every project within it. I saw a recruitment agency yesterday who seemed gobsmacked over all I do. To be honest, I do very much like taking the lead on projects and pitching to clients so I am wondering if freelance would be the way to go.

After coming back to work my boss gave me a verbal warning for taking the day off(I didn't mention the interview) I despair. He said I made it sound as if I were better than everyone else. This really isn't the attitude a director should have? My working attitude is usually "get to the point" without fuss.