A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 32 of 32

Thread: Random XML - High Score?

  1. #21
    I know nothing.
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    315
    That worked! Thank you! I knew I was missing something simple like that, but I was way off thinking it was a path/layer issue! Now I'll build the page that reads back the xml, and displays the points points. Ideally I'd like to save all of the player points into a database and display everyones ranking. What's the best way to go about this?

    Again - thank you very much! I was about to give up on the project!

  2. #22
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    save all of the player points into a database

    get some background info with -

    PHP, MySQL, and Flash.
    Learn how to integrate database content into your Flash movies using PHP and MySQL.
    Length: 22:23 - http://www.gotoandlearn.com/

    I also have some files you might want to pick apart -
    http://www.members.lycos.co.uk/jackleaman/

  3. #23
    I know nothing.
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    315
    Thanks I will look into that. Good sunday project! Also - I'm adding additional turkeys and all is well, except for the points aren't showing behind the turkeys? Everything is named correctly.... something that i'm not seeing?

  4. #24
    I know nothing.
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    315
    Quote Originally Posted by intromo
    Thanks I will look into that. Good sunday project! Also - I'm adding additional turkeys and all is well, except for the points aren't showing behind the turkeys? Everything is named correctly.... something that i'm not seeing?
    Nevermind - I found it!! Thanks for the help!

  5. #25
    Developing For Dunkets mneil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Lincoln City
    Posts
    2,156
    More php mySQL info:
    http://www.freewebmasterhelp.com/tutorials/phpmysql/1

    That tutorial is great! PHP and flash communication made easy:
    http://www.amfphp.org/
    http://code.mneilsworld.com/
    Text Effects | Bubbles | Dynamic Resize
    4 weeks , 20 papers ... thats 2 dollars .....Caassshhh!

  6. #26
    I know nothing.
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    315
    Very cool! - I will do some research and continue to work on this file. Will also post when complete...

  7. #27
    I know nothing.
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    315
    Quote Originally Posted by a_modified_dog
    http://www.jackleaman.co.uk/modified2.zip

    i hope that this file is close to where you are heading

    upload the php and xml files to your server

    change the Flash file to point to your domain - path = "http: etc"

    test the movie, then go to the winner.xml file in your browser


    your original code was failing for a few reasons, the main one was -

    you had used the Library name for the movieclips in your script
    you must always give the clip an instance name and use that name in your script.
    I gave instance names to the two targets - target01 and target02
    I mod_dog, while working on upgrading this file, I've ran into a small, but annoying issue. Everthing is working well, however when a 'player' hits the finish or submit button several time, i'm now getting multiple entries into my database. I've tried just having the submit button go to a frame then call for the database, but it then crashes... Is there any easy way to just have the button disapear after the 'player' has clicked it once?

    Your help is appreciated!! Thanks!

  8. #28
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    on the button press - buttonInstanceName.enabled = false; // disable
    on the onLoad function - buttonInstanceName.enabled = true; // re-enable

    or use the _visible property, or move the _y property to _y = 2000

  9. #29
    I know nothing.
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    315
    Quote Originally Posted by a_modified_dog
    on the button press - buttonInstanceName.enabled = false; // disable
    on the onLoad function - buttonInstanceName.enabled = true; // re-enable

    or use the _visible property, or move the _y property to _y = 2000
    Thanks for responding. Where do I place this code? Within the button actions?

  10. #30
    I know nothing.
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    315
    Quote Originally Posted by a_modified_dog
    on the button press - buttonInstanceName.enabled = false; // disable
    on the onLoad function - buttonInstanceName.enabled = true; // re-enable

    or use the _visible property, or move the _y property to _y = 2000

  11. #31
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    you say - 'player' hits the finish or submit button several time

    so the code applies to the finish and/or submit button

  12. #32
    I know nothing.
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    315
    Quote Originally Posted by a_modified_dog
    you say - 'player' hits the finish or submit button several time

    so the code applies to the finish and/or submit button

    Got it! Thanks again!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center