A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: INCREDIBLY LAME question about buttons....

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    58

    INCREDIBLY LAME question about buttons....

    Hello

    I just want to make a simple button with a link to an email. How do I do this?
    I dont know where to put the email/getURL code and how to assign it to the button...

    Thank you sincerely

  2. #2
    -_-
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    US
    Posts
    1,694
    Code:
    on (release) {
    
    getURL("mailto:<emailaddress>");
    
    }
    You need to select your button, open the actions panel, and add this code. (replace the <emailaddress> with the email address you want.)
    Hope this helps. Believe me, I have asked some lame questions too.

    -Aaron
    Last edited by Adobemedia; 11-19-2008 at 10:59 PM.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    58
    DOesnt work!!!

  4. #4
    Developing For Dunkets mneil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Lincoln City
    Posts
    2,156
    Did you replace <emailaddress> with the email address?

    Either test it in flash or live on a server- you can't test this from the desktop.
    http://code.mneilsworld.com/
    Text Effects | Bubbles | Dynamic Resize
    4 weeks , 20 papers ... thats 2 dollars .....Caassshhh!

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    58
    haha im not that daft!

    MIcrosoft Outlook was supposed to open, right?
    But nothing happened

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    58
    Ive searched the ENTIRE internet but none of the tutorials either work or dont bother to tell how to make the buttons to work.

    The thing is when I create a button and a select it, the getUrl option in the Actions panel is dimmed.

    Its really lame that Im having problems with such a basic and common thing... this shouldnt be questions of hours and days, it should be done in a few seconds, right?

  7. #7
    Developing For Dunkets mneil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Lincoln City
    Posts
    2,156
    You never know.

    You know what, it might be because it's on an object. Try taking it off. Give your button an instance name and then click on an empty layer and put these actions in. For example I'll use myBtn as the instance name:

    PHP Code:
    myBtn.onPress = function(){
        
    getURL("mailto:mneil@mneilsworld.com");

    If that doesn't work you're doing something wrong because I just did it.
    http://code.mneilsworld.com/
    Text Effects | Bubbles | Dynamic Resize
    4 weeks , 20 papers ... thats 2 dollars .....Caassshhh!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    58
    It works. Thanks!
    I thought its not working cause I wasnt testing it from a html. Outlook Express deosnt start up when testing in flash player ..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center