A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: domain name purchase?

  1. #1
    Moderator whispers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    CFA2h (respect the HEX)
    Posts
    12,755

    domain name purchase?

    How do you go about contacting someone to purchase a domain name, that is already 'taken'?

    I did a whois.. and it says that godaddy.com is the registrar...

    and that bluehost.com

    I have contacted both of them directly..and they GD says they do not own it..(although I just asked how to contact)

    and bluehost.com says this person is not a client there anymore.

    any thoughts??

  2. #2
    I'm still learning...
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    284
    i did a whois search, got his email, emailed him, no reply... the only solution i got is wait for the domain to expire... (which is 12 December 2008 )

    he's not using it anyway... could not connect to host...

  3. #3
    Moderator whispers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    CFA2h (respect the HEX)
    Posts
    12,755
    all the contact info is 'private'...

    seems like its being squatted on or something.. owns it..doesnt use it.. Im sure it will auto-renew as well..

    booo

  4. #4
    I'm still learning...
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    284
    ****... i hope that one i'm looking for doesn't auto-renew...

  5. #5
    poet and narcisist argonauta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Under the bed
    Posts
    2,080
    you could hire a broker, though I guess that can be expensive: https://sedo.com/brokerage/index.php
    my blog: blog.innocuo
    Sponsored by your mom.

  6. #6
    Total Universe Mod jAQUAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Honolulu
    Posts
    2,429
    Godaddy has a backorder feature which will try to acquire the domain as soon as their 60 days (starts after expiration) renewal window closes.
    http://help.godaddy.com/article/597

  7. #7
    I'm still learning...
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    284
    we still have to wait for 60 days to get that domain?

  8. #8
    Spartan Mop Warrior Loyal Rogue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    The Pit of Despair
    Posts
    513
    Sorry Whispers.
    Unless they have an actual site up that you can contact them thru... a "private" registration is just that... private for a reason and for an extra fee to be that way.

    Place a godaddy backorder on it just so you get notification of status changes in the registration but don't expect to win it thru godaddy even if it drops.
    My successful capture rate thru godaddy is less than 5% and I probably have 50-70 backorders active with them on any given month just for the change notifications.

    Nowadays if the domain is a good one, the registrar won't let it drop and will put it in a public auction after the redemption period is over.

    My advice is find an equally good similar domain that has a valid contact and make them an offer instead.
    ::
    "Just go make web and stfu already." - jAQUAN

    "Twitter is a public display of verbal diarrhea that comes out in small squirts." - Gerbick

  9. #9
    Total Universe Mod jAQUAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Honolulu
    Posts
    2,429
    keywords in a domain rather than an exact company name can work out better for you anyway.

  10. #10
    Moderator whispers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    CFA2h (respect the HEX)
    Posts
    12,755
    kaka... Ive been watching for about a year... and it hasnt had anything done with it.. it expires next month...

    I figured I could negotiate.. but Im sure you right..they will public auction it.. (lame)

    LOL


    jAQUAN-

    you up on you AS skills? I got a thread or two in the AS section that Im looking to get some suggestions on.. if your feeling bored that is!

    (how to create a reverse/inverse mask?)

  11. #11
    Total Universe Mod jAQUAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Honolulu
    Posts
    2,429
    hit me up on AIM with a link to your post.

  12. #12
    Senior Member gesteves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Hugoslavia
    Posts
    269

  13. #13
    Moderator whispers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    CFA2h (respect the HEX)
    Posts
    12,755
    Quote Originally Posted by jAQUAN
    hit me up on AIM with a link to your post.

    Dont have your IM buddy.. was gonna ask Gerbs for it...

    but I actually got it figured out with a link provided by flashpipe1 @ adobe.com's site:

    FYI:
    http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/webforu...read=y#5155789



    gesteves-

    thanks for the link..a good read, no doubt.

  14. #14
    Total Universe Mod jAQUAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Honolulu
    Posts
    2,429
    Quote Originally Posted by whispers
    Dont have your IM buddy..
    Hmm, I wonder what that little walking yellow man icon under my avatar is for...

  15. #15
    Moderator whispers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    CFA2h (respect the HEX)
    Posts
    12,755
    LOL.. ok I didnt even seen it..

    and actually Im having a problem.. so I'll contact you in a bit..

    now that I have implemented the 'inverse mask' to be in my main project (working on a nested clip)..

    its somehow 'off set'... while the demo I main that had everything on the main timeline.. (and nothing 'centered' once the loadInit() fires).. works just fine.. driving me nuts.. still 'has' to be the dang bitmap junk.. threshold.. point..or something..

    before I contact ya.. and send ya ting dammed thing:

    http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/webforu...359546a572e3e3

    is the function Im using..and there is a post I made as well outlining the problem Im left with..

    thanks

  16. #16
    I'm still learning...
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    284
    Quote Originally Posted by gesteves
    thanks for sharing this. so, his solution was go to more services... and spending more money on it. well, he's one lucky guy with money to spend. I'm just a student trying to build up my career.

    I'm going for another option. wait for the 60 - 75 days thing to drop, hoping that the domain will be available. (i bought the domain jasonpang.com after all the waiting period ) if the domain is really unavailable, i guess i'll have a go with a slogan... which is not that good because it's kinda long.

  17. #17
    Spartan Mop Warrior Loyal Rogue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    The Pit of Despair
    Posts
    513
    jasonpang.com?!?
    Hopefully the other domain you have your eye on is as equally undesirable and will be available for you long after the drop.
    If by any chance it contains a keyword of any kind, unlike jasonpang, then don't count on it.
    ::
    "Just go make web and stfu already." - jAQUAN

    "Twitter is a public display of verbal diarrhea that comes out in small squirts." - Gerbick

  18. #18
    Hood Rich FlashLackey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    148
    Maybe jasonpang.com translates into bestpoontang.com in Malay.
    "We don't estimate speeches." - CBO Director Doug Elmendorf

  19. #19
    I'm still learning...
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    284
    ah ****... i hate auto-renew

  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    18
    i used to purchase domains through this site. Zippozap.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center