A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Starting a career

Starting a career

Greetings everyone,

I have some very general question about starting a new careers for myself in the industry. I enjoy making Flash applications with Actionscript and would love to get paid to do that. I have done some jobs for friends for free so far but obviously can't keep doing that. For an idea of what I can do and what I enjoy doing, some examples of work I have done are online at http://peterhastieshowcase.blogspot.com

- As someone with a very limited portfolio of work, am I more likely to be successful at getting freelance work or a full time job?

- Do I need to go back to school? I have a BSc and PhD in a completely unrelated field. If so, should I be considering design or computer science courses?

- Am I being realistic to expect that I can make enough money as a full time developer to make that my only source of income?

Any input at this stage would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
    Pete

Bearded (M|G)od MyFriendIsATaco's Avatar
    Well Pete, this is a world of portfolios and skill. An outstanding portfolio will outweigh most degrees in most situations where anyone knows anything. A degree doesn't mean much if your work still sucks.

I would suggest starting out doing work for free (like you are now) and still do the best you possibly can to help build your skills and build a decent portfolio. Then slowly get into the freelance territory and expect to get paid in pennies basically. Poke in the Freelance forum here and pick up work.

I've always found it a bonus to ACT better than you are. Being humble about yourself only goes so far. But of course, this varies on your own self confidence. I've taken on work before that I said I know all about and literally had to start cracking into a book to even use the correct jargon, but in the end, I knew that I'd be able to do it. You don't want to oversell then underperform.