A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Window Size?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    16

    Window Size?

    Hello,

    I currently have a website that has a photo gallery. The home page has a link to the actual photo gallery. I'm using the (getURL) to open the photo gallery in a new window, however the new window opens up to the same size as the home page. I would like to shrink down the window size of the photo gallery so the user can still see some of the home page behind the new window.

    I know javascript can take care of this problem, but I was wondering if there is a way to do it with Flash? I just need to specify the size of the new window when it opens.

    Any help is appreciated.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Ryan Thomson EvolveDesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    3,338
    Even doing that from within flash requires javascript and popup blockers seem to dislike it when you use this method.. I would suggest you just use javascript.
    Evolve Designs Interactive Media
    the natural selection

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    16
    Would browsers actually count that as a pop up, since it is actually a new URL? Essentially I am going to a completly different page with a different URL. I just wanted it to be a bit smaller of a window.

  4. #4
    Bmcc*81 bmcc81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    299

    Open window here you go

    PHP Code:
    on (press) {
        
    getURL ("javascript:NewWindow=window.open('http://www.yourWebSite.com/casino/casino_frame.php','newWin','width=640,height=480,left=0,top=0, toolbar=No,location=No,scrollbars=No,status=No,resizable=No,fullscreen=No');  NewWindow.focus(); void(0);");


    WORKED FOR ME!!!
    Bmcc81
    Flash Designer / Web Developer
    -----------------------------------
    http://www.webinkgraphics.com

  5. #5
    Ryan Thomson EvolveDesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    3,338
    Quote Originally Posted by bmcc81 View Post
    PHP Code:
    on (press) {
        
    getURL ("javascript:NewWindow=window.open('http://www.yourWebSite.com/casino/casino_frame.php','newWin','width=640,height=480,left=0,top=0, toolbar=No,location=No,scrollbars=No,status=No,resizable=No,fullscreen=No');  NewWindow.focus(); void(0);");


    WORKED FOR ME!!!
    hmm that's gets blocked for me using firefox, chrome or ie without any extra pop up blockers running.. that's the one I used to use a few years ago.
    Evolve Designs Interactive Media
    the natural selection

  6. #6
    Bmcc*81 bmcc81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    299
    I just tested it on one of my sites and it still seems to work w/ firefox atleast. If someone finds a better solution I'm all ears.

    Thx,
    bmcc
    Bmcc81
    Flash Designer / Web Developer
    -----------------------------------
    http://www.webinkgraphics.com

  7. #7
    Ryan Thomson EvolveDesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    3,338
    Would you mind posting a link to a working version? I'd love to be wrong on this one... way nice keeping it all in flash!

    thanks
    Evolve Designs Interactive Media
    the natural selection

  8. #8
    Bmcc*81 bmcc81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    299

    Thumbs up Sure,

    THE LINK


    and then look for the black TOURNAMENT/JACKPOTS TABS in the right collumn.

    Click on the JACKPOTS TAB, you won't see the feed I'm having problems with security for that feed, but you'll be able to launch the casino software by clicking where you see "XML FEED IS TEMPORARILY DOWN"

    Seems to be working on my end, I'd like to know if other people are having issues with it.

    So please let me know what happens.
    THX,
    BMCC
    Bmcc81
    Flash Designer / Web Developer
    -----------------------------------
    http://www.webinkgraphics.com

  9. #9
    Ryan Thomson EvolveDesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    3,338
    woot! it's works in ie 5-8, firefox, chrome and safari.

    Thanks for posting, I'll put that code back in my 'use me' folder
    Evolve Designs Interactive Media
    the natural selection

  10. #10
    Bmcc*81 bmcc81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    299

    Glad to help

    Happy to contribute!!!
    Bmcc81
    Flash Designer / Web Developer
    -----------------------------------
    http://www.webinkgraphics.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center