A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Scrolling works only once

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Bmcc*81 bmcc81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    299

    Scrolling works only once

    Hi,

    I made a scrolling text box that I feed xml into.

    The only thing is when I scroll down or up I can only get it to work once.

    PHP Code:

    on 
    (press) { 
    _root.scrollingText_mc._y = - 10;

    I want it so that every time I that I press the button that I scrolls down.
    Can anyone tell me where I've gone wrong.

    Thanks,
    Bmcc
    Bmcc81
    Flash Designer / Web Developer
    -----------------------------------
    http://www.webinkgraphics.com

  2. #2
    Flash/Flex Developer samac1068's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Here, no there
    Posts
    1,813
    Change your line to this
    PHP Code:
    _root.scrollingText_mc._y -= 10
    Some people are like Slinkies, not really good for anything, but they bring a smile to your face when pushed down the stairs.

  3. #3
    Bmcc*81 bmcc81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    299

    That works but...

    That moves the text box and not the text inside.

    I'm not sure if I've done this wrong. Could you have a look?
    Please!

    FLA

    THX,

    BMCC
    Bmcc81
    Flash Designer / Web Developer
    -----------------------------------
    http://www.webinkgraphics.com

  4. #4
    Bmcc*81 bmcc81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    299
    I think I need to make a mask in Actionscript in order for this to work... buit I'm not sure and I haven't done that before.

    Does anyone know???
    Bmcc81
    Flash Designer / Web Developer
    -----------------------------------
    http://www.webinkgraphics.com

  5. #5
    Bmcc*81 bmcc81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    299

    That works but it scrolls the MC, but inisde the MC I have a createTextField which...

    That works but it scrolls the MC, but inisde the MC I have a createTextField which that needs to scroll.

    This is my created text field which gets populated by XML

    PHP Code:
    function fnCreateText() {
        
    // trace('arr: '+ arPokerDates); 
        
        
    this.createTextField('tourny_txt',0,5,0,200,165);
        
        var 
    myTextFormat:TextFormat = new TextFormat();
        
        
    myTextFormat.size 10;
        
    myTextFormat.font "Arial"
        
    myTextFormat.color 0xFFFFFF;

        
        for (
    i=0i<arPokerDates.lengthi++) {
            
    _root.scrollingText_mc.tourny_txt.text tourny_txt.text+arPokerDates[i][13]+' - '+arPokerDates[i][1]+newline;
            
    this.tourny_txt.setTextFormat(myTextFormat);
        }

    How do I scoll that text now?
    Thx,
    Bmcc81
    Flash Designer / Web Developer
    -----------------------------------
    http://www.webinkgraphics.com

  6. #6
    An FKer
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    1,167
    I made a dynamic text box and filled it with text. I simply just told that text box to scroll, not the movieclip.

    Code:
    msg.scroll += 1;
    msg being the instance name of the text box.

  7. #7
    Bmcc*81 bmcc81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    299

    Thumbs up Thanks

    Wow,

    Does it ever make it easy to make scrolling text box. I thought I was missing a big part but that built in function did the trick.

    Many thanks,
    - Bmcc
    Bmcc81
    Flash Designer / Web Developer
    -----------------------------------
    http://www.webinkgraphics.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center