A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: "What do I do?" In conversation

"What do I do?" In conversation

So I've graduated from university and I'm doing freelance work. It's design, web and video. I went to the hair dressers today and as per customary, the lady asked me what I did for a living, and I sort of stumbled about trying to explain what I do.

I don't want to say I'm a 'web designer', I'd like something that clearly says what I do, which is essentially media production, but without sounding too generic like 'media production'.

Any ideas?

"If it moves, if it's been seen, if it's been read while you're on a computer... I've done that kind of work."

Non-technical, leaves them open to ask questions on their own terms, and is rather informal. I've used a variant of that for the last 5 years.

Before that... "I make things secure, I make things work..." when the majority of my consultancy was in app dev and network design, deployment and security.

And when it was 3D "I can make the games your kids love"...

And the other stuff... from print work, to screen printing, to database dev, to (recently) Flex work... I just keep the explanations simple, use layman terms where I can.

[ Hello ] | [ gerbick ] | [ Ω ]

"I make those shiny buttons on webpages"
    "Let us declare nature to be legitimate. All plants should be declared legal, and all animals for that matter. The notion of illegal plants and animals is obnoxious and ridiculous."- T. McKenna

I consider myself a graphics generalist. I don't see myself ever programming something that doesn't use them and it hints at my design/animation/3d/print/film backgrounds.

In my experience you get the same blank smile & nod no matter what you say. No chick has ever dropped to her knees immediately (because of what I do anyway) and no guy has ever offered me work on the spot so I keep it short and sweet and if they really care they can ask questions.