A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Dynamically loading sequential swfs w/o using buttons

Dynamically loading sequential swfs w/o using buttons

Hi all, and let me just say THANK YOU in advance for any help I may receive, I know how valuable your time is. I'm not a total Flash newbie, but I'm not a pro with Actionscript.

Here's my situation:

- Flash CS4 Actionscript 2.0 internal training project

- Main movie is a single frame project, containing just the interface. This includes a menu listing 80+ individual "chapters" for the training series.

- Each "chapter" is its own project/swf. Once the main interface loads, it should begin to play the chapters sequentially without the user selecting anything from the menu. When one chapter finishes, the next should load. If the user DOES select a chapter in the menu, it should load that SWF, and continue auto-playing from that selection forward.

- Each chapter has a built-in play/rewind/ff bar, various movie clips with animations, dialogue audio track and a fairly lengthy embedded FLV movie, and therefore a preloader before each chapter is mandatory.

What I have so far works, but it's embarrassingly crafted:

- First frame of main movie (let's call this main.fla) contains the following code (most of this code was taken from an online tutorial):

var slideName = "modules/intro.swf";
    var loader:MovieClipLoader = new MovieClipLoader();
    loader.addListener(this);
    loader.loadClip(slideName, _root.movie);

_root.movie refers to an empty movie clip that is positioned on the stage of main.fla. Then, the last frame of each chapter swf contains the following code:

_root.slideName = "modules/01.swf";
    var loader:MovieClipLoader = new MovieClipLoader();
    loader.addListener(this);
    loader.loadClip(_root.slideName, _root.movie);