A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: [RESOLVED] Referencing Stage within custom "Global" class

resolved [RESOLVED] Referencing Stage within custom "Global" class

Hello All,

I'm new to OOP and I still haven't gotten a handle on coding classes and the appropriate syntax with all the "public" "private" "static" keywords, etc.
    Anyway, one thing I miss in AS3.0 is having "out-of-the-box" global variables and functions.
    I've read a lot of forums and articles about making a simple "MyGlobal" class that could hold variables and functions which could be called from the timeline as "MyGlobal.doSomething()"
    However, I seem to be running into a problem trying to reference "stage" from within one of the global functions... I imagine this is because "stage" is an instance property.
    I'm basically trying to add/remove an event listener to the stage whenever the global function "MyFunction" is called.

MyGlobal.as:
    PHP Code:
    package{

import flash.display.*;

import flash.events.KeyboardEvent;

public class 
    MyGlobal{

public static var 
    objVars:Object = new Object();

public static function 
    MyFunction(Previous_mc:MovieClipTarget_mc:MovieClip):void{

// Remove the previous keyboard listener

stage.removeEventListener(KeyboardEvent.KEY_DOWNPrevious_mc.fOnKeyDownfalse);

// Add a keyboard listener that targets the Target_mc's fOnKeyDown function

stage.addEventListener(KeyboardEvent.KEY_DOWNTarget_mc.fOnKeyDownfalse0true);        
            }

}

MyApplication.fla Timeline:
    PHP Code:
    MyGlobal.objVars.myVar1 "Hello World";
    trace(MyGlobal.objVars.myVar1); // output: Hello World

MyGlobal.MyFunction(myMC1_mcmyMC2_mc); 
    Compiler Error:
    Code:
    1120: Access of undefined property stage.
    Am I missing an import statment, or is there someway I need to declare stage as this.stage?
    Last edited by badaboom55; 01-25-2010 at 03:11 PM.

http://help.adobe.com/en_US/AS3LCR/F...ect.html#stage