A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Device screen width and flash player.

Device screen width and flash player.

Hi all.

I have a couple of niggling questions which i'm hoping somebody can answer.

1. I'm a single developer making half a dozen or so flash lite apps. I've initially designed them around a 240x320 screensize because to be honest, that's what size the screen can be as a minimum due to all the visual content. The application doesnt scale, because i've built in some logic for screen rotation. Anyway, there are a few other resolutions out there with slightly bigger screens, and some slightly narrower etc. I guess my question is, short of developing for every screensize out there (which isnt very feasible for myself), what does everybody else do out there?

2. I've packaged my swf into a .sis, which installs nicely. So, my other question is this: Do SWFs packaged into a .SIS need a standalone flash player to run (regardles of browser flash)? And are there phones out there that have the flash plugin for the browser, but no standalone player? I dont want you to name them, but just tell me if they exist.

Thanks.

Use fscommand2 fullscreen parameter to fit it to screen. if the other dimensions are only slightly different it wont matter.

if you have developed a application it will run as a application. why do you want to run it in browser ?

Hi.

I used to use the 'fscommand2 fullscreen' option, but whenever the device was rotated the application looked terrible. The font line-spacing didnt scale so lines of text were missing etc. So i decided to get rid of this 'fullscreen' feature and put a listener in to detect the rotation, displaying the 'portrait' or 'landscape' mc accordingly......

"if you have developed a application it will run as a application. why do you want to run it in browser ?" - because if users have a flash in their browser, but not as a standalone player, they would be able to use it too.....