A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Layer above actionScript

Question Layer above actionScript

How do you place a layer above actionscript? In my experience any graphics from a movie clip or button etc called by actionscript are visible above the highest layer in the timeline. What am I doing wrong?

Thankyouuuuuu

Will moderate for beer
    addChild adds to the top of whatever container is being added to. The default behavior from frame code is therefor to add the new instances at the top of the root. But you could create a container at another layer and add to that instead. Or you could use addChildAt to add to a lower level without an organizing container.

sorry I'm a bit of a beginner. What exactly is a container? do you know of any tutorials?

thanks again

Will moderate for beer
    By container, I meant any DisplayObjectContainer. That is, any Sprite or MovieClip, usually with no appearance of its own. If you had such a clip on stage named "container", you could add a new child to it by calling its addChild method.
    Code:
    container.addChild(thingy);

Question DisplayObjectContainer

So does all the content I have at present have to go into a DisplayObjectContainer and then the graphic I want to appear above this needs to be in addChild?

Will moderate for beer
    You don't have to re-arrange all your current stuff, you just need to understand the display list, which is actually a tree.

Each DisplayObject on the display list is a child of another DisplayObjectContainer, all the way up to the stage. Each DisplayObjectContainer (MovieClip or Sprite) can have multiple children. Direct siblings are shown from bottom to top in their child order. If A is on top of B, all children of A will be on top of B and all children of B.

So if you want to add children dynamically at a particular relative level, create an empty movieclip at that level, and add your children to that.