A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: as3 contact form help

Hybrid View

as3 contact form help

hello, i am using KM7 and am a complete noob. I'm in the process of creating a website and have run into a problem i need help with.

I am trying to make a contact page, and i'm not sure i'm going about it in the correct way.

I tried using a combobox that would jump to different frames in the movie which would contain the different contact forms, but i could only get it to work in flash8, and then when importing a flash9 swf file, the combobox lost all functionality.

I would like to create a contact form in which the user can select from three different options, bookings, info, and artist submissions. For the first two selections (bookings/info) i only need the following input fields: name, email, subject, message. For the third (artist submissions) i would like the user to have the ability to attach a mp3 file to the email, as well as the previous fields.

The rest of my movie is using flash 9 so i assume i would need to keep this constant, and cant figure out how to make the contact form functional.

Any suggestions or help on how i can accomplish this would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for you time..

best wishes,
    cbthen00b

ok, i got the combobox sorted, but i still have no clue how to make the contact forms functional..

The "Input forms" section on KoolExchange ( www.koolexchange.com ) has an example Bret created.

thanks, i've got the example downloaded and it is extremely helpful. Im still tryin to figure out how add an attachment to the mail any suggestions?

Another problem i'm having is with using multiple addresses for the form to send to. my project is a 5 frame movie, frame 1&2 are just the combobox. When an item on the combobox is selected it jumps to a different frame.

Frame3 - booking info/email sent to bookings@domain.com
    Frame4 - general info/email sent to info@domain.com