A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: [RESOLVED] removeChild problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    20

    resolved [RESOLVED] removeChild problem

    Actionscript Code:
    function btnClicked(e:MouseEvent):void {

        switch (e.target) {
            case Aplayer1 :
                setChildIndex(Aplayer1,numChildren - 1);
                TweenMax.to(Aplayer1, 0.5, {x:159, y:266, scaleX:1, scaleY:1, colorTransform:{tint:0x000000, tintAmount:0}});
                this.addChild(infoA1);
                infoA1.x  =  126;
                infoA1.y = 389;
                            //here i want to remove the movieclip that loaded from others buttonclicked
                this.removeChild(infoA3);
                this.removeChild(infoA2);
                this.removeChild(infoA4);
                break;

            case Aplayer2 :
                setChildIndex(Aplayer2,numChildren - 1);
                TweenMax.to(Aplayer2, 0.5, {x:253, y:268, scaleX:1, scaleY:1, colorTransform:{tint:0x000000, tintAmount:0}});
                this.addChild(infoA2);
                infoA2.x  =  126;
                infoA2.y = 389;
                break;

            case Aplayer3 :
                setChildIndex(Aplayer3,numChildren - 1);
                TweenMax.to(Aplayer3, 0.5, {x:364, y:264, scaleX:1, scaleY:1, colorTransform:{tint:0x000000, tintAmount:0}});
                this.addChild(infoA3);
                infoA3.x  =  126;
                infoA3.y = 389;
                break;

            case Aplayer4 :
                setChildIndex(Aplayer4,numChildren - 1);
                TweenMax.to(Aplayer4, 0.5, {x:506, y:274, scaleX:1, scaleY:1, colorTransform:{tint:0x000000, tintAmount:0}});
                this.addChild(infoA4);
                infoA4.x  =  126;
                infoA4.y = 389;
                break;
        }
    }

    When i click Aplayer1 it will load infoA1 movieclip to the stage, click on Aplayer2 will load infoA2...but it will overlapping infoA1,infoA2...

    i try to remove the child with the script above it will show up error 2025.

    how to resolve this problem?

  2. #2
    Will moderate for beer
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    6,801
    Always post the error message. No one has memorized that 2025 means "supplied object must be a child of the caller" (I just googled it).

    Anyway, the error message tells you exactly what's wrong. You can't remove an object that isn't a child of the thing you are telling to remove it. You can use the contains function to see whether the child is there to be removed before removing it.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    20
    Sorry that I've forget the error message...

    and i'm a newbie from AS3...totally...

    what do you mean by container?

  4. #4
    Will moderate for beer
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    6,801
    I didn't write 'container'. I wrote 'contains'.

    contains is a method of DisplayObjectContainer, which tells you if a given DisplayObject is a child of that DisplayObjectContainer.

    Code:
      //here i want to remove the movieclip that loaded from others buttonclicked
      if (contains(infoA3)){
         removeChild(infoA3); 
      }
      if (contains(infoA2)){
         removeChild(infoA2); 
      }
      if (contains(infoA4)){
         removeChild(infoA4); 
      }
    But that's a lot of repeating. We could define a function:
    Code:
    function safeRemove(c:DisplayObject):void{
      if (contains(c)){
        removeChild(c);
      }
    }
    and then use it like:
    Code:
      safeRemove(infoA3);
      safeRemove(infoA2);  
      safeRemove(infoA4);

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    20
    Thanks the script is works!

    I'm totally noob in AS3. and i juz mention your name! you have solve many kinds on AS3 problems here and some of it is removeChild problems!

    I've figure it out for 2 days...finally!

    Thanks alot again!

    may i ask what book should read to learn AS3?

  6. #6
    Will moderate for beer
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    6,801
    I've never read any of the as3 instructional books. There's a sticky-thread at the top of this forum for book recommendations.
    http://board.flashkit.com/board/showthread.php?t=752155

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    20
    cool! anyway thanks again!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center