A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Button not working

Button not working

Hello,

This is my first time posting here and I came across this site while searching the net for an answer to my dilemma that is yet unresolved. first off I am brand new to flash 8 and I am attempting to make a guild website for an upcoming mmo. I have already got the entire site built in flash and the only thing left is to get 4 of my 5 buttons working. Buttons 1-4 currently do not work and button 5 works (only because it links to a url, which wasn't hard to find out how to do). Buttons 1-4 are supposed to link to a movie clip that is within a movie clip but everything I have read has failed to produce a working result.

I have been searching for about 2 days to get this working and I am almost 100% positive that it is something very simple or some simple mistake that i have made in the script, but alas I am about to stab myself in the eye....

Can someone please take a look at the .fla file and for the love of all that is holy please make buttons 1-4 work and then tell me exactly how you did it and explain it so a newb can understand it.

The four buttons not working are:
    Home
    About Us
    Events
    Join Us

The four buttons reside on their own layer titled "Buttons" and should link to another layer titled "Content" that has a movie clip on it titled "Content_mc" and inside that movie clip are the four movie clips for each of the four buttons "Home_mc, About Us_mc, Events_mc, and Join Us_mc".

Example:
    when clicked on the home button the Home_mc would be displayed in its box. When clicked on the about us button the About Us_mc would be displayed in its box. Sounds easy but for the life of me i cant get it to work.

I suspect that the issue is one of two things:
    1) I am not using the right command
    2) I am not using the right path

Both of which i don't know how to resolve. Any help with this is greatly appreciated.