A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Flash CS3 scroll bar

Flash CS3 scroll bar

Hi,

To start, I am just a beginner in Flash, so please be patient. I am trying to create a scroll bar for a website in Flash. I went through different forums and combined different scripts, but the results weren't favourable. There were also many errors. Would someone please help me check my script to see what is the problem?

Here it is below.
    Actionscript Code:
    MovieClip(txt).mask=MovieClip(txtmask);
    import flash.events.MouseEvent;
    scrolltab.buttonMode=true;
    scrolltab.addEventListener (MouseEvent.MOUSE_DOWN, scrolldown);
    function scrolldown (e:MouseEvent) {

if (txt.height>txtmask.height && this.hitTestPoint(MovieClip(root).mouseX, MovieClip(root).mouseY,false)  )
        {
            var range:Rectangle = new Rectangle(scrolltabback.X, scrolltabback.Y, scrolltabback.X, scrolltabback.height- this.height);
            this.startDrag(false,range);
            addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, scrolltxt);
        }
    }

function scrolltxt() {

var scrollpos:Number = (-(root as MovieClip).scrolltab.Y*(((this.height-(root as MovieClip).scrolltab.height)/((root as MovieClip).scrolltabback.height-(root as MovieClip).scrolltab.height))-1))
        this.Y = (scrollpos-this.Y)*.2;
        this.Y += this.Y;
        if(Math.abs(scrollpos-this.Y)<1){
        removeEventListener(Event.DEACTIVATE,scrolltxt);
        }

}

import flash.events.MouseEvent;
    scrolltab.buttonMode=true;
    scrolltab.addEventListener (MouseEvent.MOUSE_UP, scrollstop);

function scrollstop (e:MouseEvent) {
        stopDrag();
        scrolltab.removeEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_UP,scrollstop);
    }

Thankyou so much,
    Clemec

there are a few problems with the above.

first, property names are lowercase - there is no "this.Y" - it's "this.y"