A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Flash Input text does not work through Dreamweaver

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    459

    Flash Input text does not work through Dreamweaver

    Hello everyone,
    I am trying to get a contact forum to work on my website.
    The input text test works when I export the swf itself, but I can't type anything into those forms once the flash is in dreamweaver and published.
    Does anyone know of a reason why this happens?

    This contact forum is using AS and PHP.
    The tutorial
    ***********************
    I found out why I can't get the input text to work. It's because a SWF is loading into another SWF. There must be a way to fix this issue.
    Last edited by An Artist; 02-22-2011 at 10:41 PM. Reason: found part of the problem

  2. #2
    Senior Member whispers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    CFA2h (respect the HEX)
    Posts
    12,756
    huh?

    are you not embedding the .swf as normal?

    I dont think this has anything to do with Dreamweaver?

    if the .swf works by itself..

    but the .swf does NOT work when loaded into another (main) .swf..

    its usually a scoping issue.

    remove all references of _root in the external/form.swf.. and use relative pathing.

    or maybe try using _lockroot = true;

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    459
    Quote Originally Posted by whispers View Post
    huh?

    are you not embedding the .swf as normal?

    I dont think this has anything to do with Dreamweaver?

    if the .swf works by itself..

    but the .swf does NOT work when loaded into another (main) .swf..

    its usually a scoping issue.

    remove all references of _root in the external/form.swf.. and use relative pathing.

    or maybe try using _lockroot = true;

    Actually I found out the problem was that because I was using an external SWF as the contact form... When I put the contact form in the main movie clip it worked.

  4. #4
    Senior Member whispers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    CFA2h (respect the HEX)
    Posts
    12,756
    you could have kept it separate..

    you should be able to load movies/swf's/content as normal..regardless of where it is embedded.

    I still think it was a simple/minor pathing issue.

    a simple _lockroot = true in the external.swf probably would have fixed it. =)

    glad it all worked out for ya.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    459
    Quote Originally Posted by whispers View Post
    you could have kept it separate..

    you should be able to load movies/swf's/content as normal..regardless of where it is embedded.

    I still think it was a simple/minor pathing issue.

    a simple _lockroot = true in the external.swf probably would have fixed it. =)

    glad it all worked out for ya.

    Actually, it didn't work out. Now I can't get the other buttons to work and load the external SWFs now that I did it this way.
    Can I PM you my page and code? Maybe you can help me solve several days of problems.

  6. #6
    Senior Member whispers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    CFA2h (respect the HEX)
    Posts
    12,756
    question 1:

    in the FORM.swf the one that you are trying to LOAD into another (main) .swf

    is there any references to _root?


    question 2:

    did you try putting _lockroot = true; in the FORM/external.swf first frame in _root timeline?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    459
    Quote Originally Posted by whispers View Post
    question 1:

    in the FORM.swf the one that you are trying to LOAD into another (main) .swf

    is there any references to _root?


    question 2:

    did you try putting _lockroot = true; in the FORM/external.swf first frame in _root timeline?


    I am not an expert in AS2. I don't even know what a _lockroot = true is. And I did try _root a few times but nothing worked.

  8. #8
    Senior Member whispers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    CFA2h (respect the HEX)
    Posts
    12,756
    did you make this .swf?


    and even if you didnt.. look at the code..

    do you see _root typed anywhere? in any lines of code?



    and I suppose you dont need to know to know what: _lockroot = true; means to try it..

    just copy and paste it where I said if you wanted to try and solve your problem.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    459
    Quote Originally Posted by whispers View Post
    did you make this .swf?


    and even if you didnt.. look at the code..

    do you see _root typed anywhere? in any lines of code?



    and I suppose you dont need to know to know what: _lockroot = true; means to try it..

    just copy and paste it where I said if you wanted to try and solve your problem.

    Thanks. I made 100% of this website. It's going to be my portfolio website. I will PM you the trial website.

    Here is the AS2 for the contact button.

    Actionscript Code:
    on (rollOver) {
        this.contactMC2.gotoAndPlay("start");

    }

    on (rollOut) {
        this.contactMC2.gotoAndPlay("goback");


    }

    on (press) {
        this.contactMC2.gotoAndPlay("press");



    }

    on (release) {

        loadMovie("contact.swf", this._parent.blank_mc);

    }

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center