A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Questions about Video Playlists

Questions about Video Playlists

Hi, I'm Jenn, new here. I apologize if this is not the correct spot for this, but here we go.

I am new to The "newer" flash. Back in the day, I knew how to use the old action script, now Im a little in the dark.

I usually don't use flash for my sites, because as I said, still learning the new action script. HOWEVER, i have a client who would like to post a web series, so basically, she would like something exactly like this www.watchtheguild.com.

I am not sure how to go about creating a streaming web playlist like this, I would love some guidance.... This project will be starting in about a month or so, I would like to understand the process before it starts.

I would appreciate any information on this, tutorial links, or a template.

Thanks so much!!

Your question brings up A LOT of other questions. Are you posting the video or is the client? Who's encoding it? Do you want different encoding rates based on the viewer's connection? Do you want to stream or progressively download the video? Do you plan to support mobile or viewers without Flash?

Etc, etc.

The easiest path would be to use the players that come with Flash, and set up your list in Flash as well. You could use one of the included components to do that. You can do progresive video (rather than streaming) without any special server setup, and you should encode in H.264 (available as an option with Adobe Media Encoder), that'll at least give you the chance to support mobile (though if you really want to support mobile you should build your playlist in HTML).

A couple of other things I'll point out...if you're comfortable with the "old" Actionscript (AS2), there's no reason you can't use it. It may not be the "in" thing, but Flash still supports it.

The other option you might consider is to subcontract out the video player work.

Well I don't have the money to subcontract.

Questions answered.