A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: [RESOLVED] How to open a BAK file in Corel Draw 5?

resolved [RESOLVED] How to open a BAK file in Corel Draw 5?

I have been having some troubles with my Corel Draw lately. First off, I no longer have the software so unfortunately re-installing is not an option. I’m really hoping there is another way around it.
    First off, I saved a .cdr file as I usually do, I went to open it and it keeps telling me ERROR READING so and so file. I have tried opening the BAK file but it keeps telling me to use a specific filter. When opening a file I try clicking on "Filter Information" and says none available. I have no clue about filtering or anything else. I am pretty new with this program. I’m not sure if it matters but I also have Adobe PageMaker and QuarkXpress. Is there anyway to export the file to one of these?
    I really don’t want to have to buy any additional software (hopefully this won’t happen again).
    I have honestly tried everything I can think of including burning the file onto disc and trying to open it from there.
    Any help what-so-ever would be greatly appreciated!

Opening Damaged or Corrupted CDR Files
    Details
    An error message is displayed when trying to open CDR files within CorelDRAW®.
    Answer
    If a problem is encountered while trying to OPEN a CDR file in CorelDRAW, try one of the following to determine if the file can be salvaged:
    Create a new document.
    Go to View | Wireframe.
    Import the file with the CDR filter.
    Or, convert the file to a CMX, using Media folders (Media folders can optionally be installed with CorelDRAW 8).
    Try opening the file in Corel PHOTO-PAINT® (Note this will result in a completely rasterized rendition of the CDR file).
    For a PC file, try opening on the Macintosh (or visa versa).